2019 meetings and debates

2 November 2019: Meetings and debates at the Médiathèque Marguerite Duras

On Saturday 2 November 2019 from 14h to 17h30, the Biennale of Tangible Image organizes to the Media Library Marguerite Duras an afternoon of meetings and discussions about new practices photographs, the history of experimental photography and the advent of new tools digital. Are invited: artists exhibited at the first edition of the Tangible Image Biennial, as well as theoreticians, historians and critics specialized in photography, contemporary art and digital art.

Podcast: Meetings and Debates - 2 nov 2019

Saturday, November 2

14H to 17H30

Media library Marguerite Duras
115 Street of Bagnolet, 75020 Paris

14h00-14h30
Presentation of the Tangible Image Biennial.

***

14h30-15h30
Conference by Marc Lenot, accompanied by Laure Tiberghien.
"A short history of experimental photography".
Author of the book Play against devices, published by Éditions Photosynthèse (Arles), Marc Lenot traces the evolution of experimental photography through the analysis of the works of a hundred photographers. Indeed, since its inception, photography has never ceased to experiment, and has never been limited to the mere function of reproduction or documentation of reality. It would also be interesting to understand that photography did not wait for the advent of digital technology to experiment and modify our vision of reality.

Marc Lenot (born in 1948, Polytechnique, graduated from MIT, master of the EHESS) supported in June 2016 a thesis on experimental photography at the University Paris 1 Sorbonne under the direction of Michel Poivert. He has also written several essays on Czech photographer Miroslav Tichý. Winner 2014 of the Critics' Prize awarded by the French section of the AICA (International Association of Art Critics), he was, in this capacity, the publisher of the book Estefanía Peñafiel Loaiza, preliminary fragments (the presses of the real , 2015). He is also the author of the blog Glasses Rouges on contemporary art published under the aegis of Le Monde (http://lunettesrouges.blog.lemonde.fr/). He divides his time between Paris and Lisbon.

Laure Tiberghien graduated from Beaux-Arts in Paris in 2016. She lives in Paris and works on Ile Saint Denis. Invited in october 2017 by gallerist and curator Françoise Paviot, she made her first personal exhibition, "La Société Lumière", at Espace Van Gogh in Arles. Represented by the Lumière des roses gallery (Montreuil), she participated in the Paris Photo 2018 fair and won the Prix Découvertes of the Arles festival in 2019. In November, she participated in the exhibition Approach and Paris Photo.
Her work explores the limits of the photographic medium by questioning its two fundamental elements, light and time, and creates unique photographic objects.

***

15h45-17h30
Discussion-debate animated by the team of the Tangible Image Biennial, with Sarah Ihler-Meyer, Christian Gattinoni, Dominique Moulon.
Guest artists: Juliette-Andréa Elie and Caroline Delieutraz.

"Recovery or misappropriation of images, 3d scan, image banks, Google view, algorithms, digital manipulations, as many contemporary processes of creating an image ... With the emergence of these new technologies, the link that seemed to unite is the photographic act in the real, and the tangible, is it being undone? "

In what way does the multiplicity of these tools, and their ease of use, lead artists to change their position in the face of reality?
Is the significant appearance of unique works, and interventions on the photographic material by the artists, not a tendency to find this link with a certain materiality or tangible reality?
In front of the exponential production of images and their interpenetration, where their appropriation as a work of art stops by the artist ?

Art critic (AICA member) and independent curator (member of CEA), Sarah Ihler-Meyer collaborates regularly for La Dispute - France Culture and Art Press. She has worked as an exhibition curator for Mudam-Luxembourg, Mrac Sérignan and the Contemporary Art Center of the Butchers' Hall in Vienna. His projects aim to highlight emerging issues and trends in contemporary creation, most often falling short of doxas and official narratives.

Christian Gatttinoni was a teacher at the National School of Photography in Arles from 1989 to 2016. Member of the International Association of Art Critics he is editor-in-chief of the journal online www.lacritique.org. and artistic advisor of the Fictions Documentaires festival with the GRAPH in Carcassonne. Latest published works The history of photographic criticism (with Yannick Vigouroux) New Editions Scala; The love life of angels, videogame. Area Editions.
http://www.christiangattinoni.fr

Dominique Moulon is a teacher, researcher, art critic and independent curator. Holder of a doctorate in Arts and Sciences of Art, he is a member of the Art & Flux laboratory of the Mixed Research Unit ACTE (CNRS / University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne), of the International Association of Critics of Art (AICA) and the International Association of Curators of Contemporary Art (IKT).
http://dominiquemoulon.com/

Juliette-Andréa Elie
Born in 1985, Juliette-Andréa Elie lives and works in Paris. She is a graduate of ESBANM in Nantes (2010) and Concordia University in Montreal.
Winner of the Fotoprice prize at the Fotofever fair, her work was exhibited at Villa Cameline (2012), at Agnès b. (2014), Circulation at Centquatre Festival (2015), Outside the walls of the Palais de Tokyo (2015), at the Fiac; as well as Paris Photo.
She is represented by the galleries Baudoin Lebon (Paris), and Maria Baró (Sao Paulo).
https://julietteandreaelie.com/

Caroline Delieutraz
Born in 1982. Lives and works in Paris.
She has participated in numerous group exhibitions, such as the festival "Do Disturb" at the Palais de Tokyo in 2018; "Service Company", curatorial: Dominique Moulon, Platform, Paris, in 2016; "Young Creation", Centquatre, in 2014.
And she has had several solo shows at the 22,48m2 Gallery, which represents her, in 2014, 2017 and 2019 ("When we were Trolls"), and was a finalist in the 2017 Science Po Award.
http://www.delieutraz.net/fr/

Exhibition "NOT SUBJECT"

Platform Gallery

Matthieu Boucherit, Caroline Delieutraz, Juliette-Andréa Elie, Laure Tiberghien.

From 1er to 17 November 2019
Opening November 1er at 18h

In parallel with the afternoon of meetings and discussions of 2 November 2019 organized at the library Marguerite Duras (Paris 20e), The Biennale of the Tangible Image proposes an exhibition around new photographic practices. More precisely around the alteration and disappearance of the subject that photography is traditionally supposed to represent. Indeed, through the works of four artists (Matthieu Boucherit, Caroline Delieutraz, Juliette-Andréa Elie, Laure Tiberghien), " Off topic " shows us how the photographic referent can be erased, transformed, decontextualized - or even absent from the image, instead of being its usual center of interest.

Through a wide spectrum, ranging from photoreporting film, to manually reworked photography, through Internet archive images, photogram or chemical experimentation, artists from " Off topic " question the status of photography as a process whose primary function is to reveal reality. For far from being a faithful mirror, photography can mask, alter or transfigure reality.

So, Matthieu Boucherit digitally erases the subjects of press photographs and leaves room in the image for the accessory or the context. These empty images question the trace (or lack of impact) that all information leaves in the collective memory. Presented in Ikea frames, these "shock-shots" broadcast by the mass-media reveal a domestic violence, which adorns our daily life - far from awakening the conscience of the spectators ...

Moreover, the Internet and its continuous flow of images are pushing Caroline Delieutraz to materialize this virtual body into a very real puzzle, whose multiple layers emphasize the complexity of the sources and origins of images circulating on the Web. Like a sediment deposited by the waves, these searchable and online images seem to accumulate until they become confused and disappear in their uniqueness to recompose the famous wave of Hokusai.

At the origins, precisely, Laure Tiberghien it returns with a work anchored in the heart of light and photographic emulsion. His photograms without subject, born of chance and experimentation, reconnect with the etymology of photography as pure "light writing" produced without apparatus. The photograph asserts itself here as an act of creation realized with filters and interventions guided by the gesture of the artist.

Unique works opposing the mechanical nature of the photographic reproduction, the engraved and scraped prints with the dry point of Juliette-Andréa Elie create dreamlike landscapes, where tracing papers, colorful and folded papers are superimposed. These manually retouched images invite us to contemplation and open up a new relationship with time, faced with the speed of increased diffusion of images.

Like the flooded of Hippolyte Bayard, a self-portrait dating from 1840 where the photographer stages his own disappearance, photography remains a tool open to experimentation that can take itself as an object - instead of thinking of itself as a true record of " which was ". An image therefore does not necessarily have the vocation to faithfully represent a subject, and can also reflect on its own production methods. Through " Off topic ", the creation of unique works, the work on the support and the materiality of the photo, or a critique of the durability of the images, appear as so many open tracks on the future of photography.

François Salmeron and Dominique Clerc

Platform Gallery

Address
73 rue des Haies, 75020, Paris
www.plateforme-paris.com

Schedules
Exhibition open from Wednesday to Sunday

of 14h30 to 19h30

Schedules
Saturday November 2 2019
14H to 17H30

Address
Media library Marguerite Duras,
115 Street of Bagnolet, 75020 Paris

https://mediathequemargueriteduras.wordpress.com/

Metro: Gambetta or Porte de Bagnolet
Tel: 01 55 25 49 10
E-mail: mediatheque.marguerite-duras@paris.fr

Rencontres et débats 2019

2 novembre 2019 : Rencontres et débats à la Médiathèque Marguerite Duras

Le samedi 2 novembre 2019 de 14h à 17h30, la Biennale de l’Image Tangible organise à la Médiathèque Marguerite Duras une après-midi de rencontres et de discussions autour des nouvelles pratiques photographiques, de l’histoire de la photographie expérimentale et de l’avènement des nouveaux outils numériques. Sont invités : des artistes exposées lors de la première édition de la Biennale de l’Image Tangible, ainsi que des théoriciens, historiens et critiques spécialisés en photographie, en art contemporain et en art numérique.

Samedi 2 novembre

de 14h à 17h30

Médiathèque Marguerite Duras
115 Rue de Bagnolet, 75020 Paris

14h00-14h30
Présentation de la Biennale de l’Image Tangible.

***

14h30-15h30
Conférence de Marc Lenot, accompagné de Laure Tiberghien.
« Petite histoire de la photographie expérimentale ».
Auteur de l’ouvrage Jouer contre les appareils, paru aux Éditions Photosynthèses (Arles), Marc Lenot y retrace l’évolution de la photographie expérimentale à travers l’analyse des œuvres d’une centaine de photographes. En effet, depuis ses débuts, la photographie n’a jamais cessé d’expérimenter, et ne s’est jamais limitée à la simple fonction de reproduction ou de documentation du réel. Il serait également intéressant de comprendre que la photo n’a pas attendu l’avènement du numérique pour expérimenter et modifier notre vision du réel.

Marc Lenot (né en 1948, Polytechnicien, diplômé du M.I.T., master de l’EHESS) a soutenu en juin 2016 une thèse sur la photographie expérimentale à l’Université Paris 1 Sorbonne sous la direction de Michel Poivert. Il a aussi écrit plusieurs essais sur le photographe tchèque Miroslav Tichý. Lauréat 2014 du Prix de la critique décerné par la section française de l’AICA (Association internationale des Critiques d’Art), il a été, à ce titre, l’éditeur du livre Estefanía Peñafiel Loaiza, fragments liminaires (les presses du réel, 2015). Il est aussi l’auteur du blog Lunettes Rouges sur l’art contemporain publié sous l’égide du Monde (http://lunettesrouges.blog.lemonde.fr/). Il partage son temps entre Paris et Lisbonne.

Laure Tiberghien est diplômée des Beaux-Arts de Paris en 2016. Elle vit à Paris et travaille sur l’ile Saint Denis. Invitée en octobre 2017 par la galeriste et commissaire Françoise Paviot, elle réalise sa première exposition personnelle, «La Société Lumière», à l’Espace Van Gogh à Arles. Représentée par la galerie Lumière des roses (Montreuil), elle a participé à la foire Paris Photo 2018 et a remporté le prix Découvertes du festival d’Arles en 2019. En novembre, elle participe au salon Approche ainsi qu’à Paris Photo.
Son travail explore les limites du medium photographique en questionnant ses deux éléments fondamentaux, la lumière et le temps, et crée des objets photographiques uniques.

***

15h45-17h30
Discussion-débat animée par l’équipe de la Biennale de l’Image Tangible, avec  Sarah Ihler-Meyer, Christian Gattinoni, Dominique Moulon et Fanny Lambert.
Artistes invitées : Juliette-Andréa Elie et Caroline Delieutraz.

« Récupération ou détournement d’images, scan 3d, banques d’images, Google view, algorithmes, manipulations numériques, autant de procédés contemporains de création d’une image… Avec l’émergence de ces nouvelles technologies, le lien qui semblait unir l’acte photographique au réel, et au tangible, est-il en train de se défaire ? »

En quoi la multiplicité de ces outils, et leur facilité d’utilisation, amène les artistes à changer de position face au réel ? 
L’apparition importante d’œuvres uniques, et d’interventions sur la matière photographique de la part des artistes, n’est-elle pas une tendance visant à retrouver ce lien avec une certaine matérialité ou réalité tangible ? 
Devant la production exponentielle d’images et leur interpénétration, où s’arrête leur appropriation en tant qu’œuvre d’art par l’artiste ?

Critique d’art (membre de l’AICA) et commissaire d’exposition indépendante (membre de CEA), Sarah Ihler-Meyer collabore régulièrement pour La Dispute – France Culture et Art Press. Elle a travaillé en tant que commissaire d’exposition notamment pour le Mudam-Luxembourg, le Mrac Sérignan et le Centre d’art contemporain de la Halle des Bouchers à Vienne. Ses projets visent à mettre en lumière les enjeux et tendances émergents de la création contemporaine, s’inscrivant le plus souvent à rebours des doxas et des récits officiels.

Christian Gatttinoni a été enseignant à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure de la Photographie d’Arles de 1989 à 2016. Membre de l’Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art il est rédacteur en chef de la revue en ligne www.lacritique.org. et conseiller artistique du festival Fictions Documentaires avec le GRAPH à Carcassonne. Derniers ouvrages parus L’histoire de la critique photographique (avec Yannick Vigouroux) Nouvelles Editions Scala;  La vie amoureuse des anges, vidéogame. Editions Area .
http://www.christiangattinoni.fr

Dominique Moulon est enseignant, chercheur, critique d’art et curateur indépendant. Titulaire d’un doctorat en Arts et Sciences de l’Art, il est membre du laboratoire Art & Flux de l’Unité Mixe de Recherche ACTE (CNRS / Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne), de l’Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art (AICA) et de l’International Association of Curators of Contemporary Art (IKT).
http://dominiquemoulon.com/

Diplômée d’un cycle de muséologie à l’Ecole du Louvre, Fanny Lambert est critique d’art, commissaire d’exposition indépendante (CEA), en charge du Pôle Art Contemporain à la galerie Gradiva, et enseignante. Spécialisée en art contemporain et photographie, elle s’intéresse particulièrement au corps dans l’image et à l’image contenue dans l’archive mais aussi aux spécificités de monstration des productions dites éphémères ou performatives. Elle a collaboré à L’Oeil de la Photographie et à Beaux Arts Magazine. Elle s’attache à conduire une mise en regard de l’art contemporain et de l’image dans les pratiques actuelles. Depuis 2016, elle enseigne l’Histoire de l’art des années 1960 à nos jours à l’Université Paris 8, où elle y développe un axe dédié à la perception critique de l’image.
http://fannylambert.com/FL/FL.html

Juliette-Andréa Elie
Née en 1985, Juliette-Andréa Elie vit et travaille à Paris. Elle est diplômée de l’ESBANM à Nantes (2010) et de la Concordia University à Montréal.
Lauréate du prix Fotoprice de la foire Fotofever, son travail a été exposé à la Villa Cameline (2012), chez Agnès b. (2014), au festival Circulations au Centquatre (2015), au Hors les murs du Palais de Tokyo (2015), à la Fiac ; ainsi qu’à Paris Photo.
Elle est représentée les galeries Baudoin Lebon (Paris), et Maria Baró (Sao Paulo).
https://julietteandreaelie.com/

Caroline Delieutraz
Née en 1982. Vit et travaille à Paris.
Elle a participé à de nombreuses expositions collectives, telles que le festival « Do Disturb » au Palais de Tokyo en 2018 ; « Société de service », commissariat : Dominique Moulon, Plateforme, Paris, en 2016 ; « Jeune Création », Centquatre, en 2014.
Et elle a eu plusieurs expositions personnelles à la galerie 22,48m2, qui la représente, en 2014, 2017 et 2019 (« When we were Trolls »), et a été finaliste du prix Sciences po en 2017.
http://www.delieutraz.net/fr/

Exposition « HORS SUJET »

Galerie Plateforme

Matthieu Boucherit, Caroline Delieutraz, Juliette-Andréa Elie, Laure Tiberghien.

Du 1er au 17 novembre 2019
Vernissage le 1er novembre à 18h

En parallèle de l’après-midi de rencontres et discussions du 2 novembre 2019 organisée à la médiathèque Marguerite Duras (Paris 20e), la Biennale de l’Image Tangible propose une exposition autour des nouvelles pratiques photographiques. Plus précisément autour de l’altération et de la disparition du sujet que la photographie est traditionnellement censée représenter. En effet, à travers les œuvres de quatre artistes (Matthieu Boucherit, Caroline Delieutraz, Juliette-Andréa Elie, Laure Tiberghien), « Hors sujet » nous montre comment le référent photographique peut se trouver gommé, transformé, décontextualisé – voire être carrément absent de l’image, au lieu d’en être l’habituel centre d’intérêt.

A travers un large spectre, allant du photoreportage argentique, à la photographie retravaillée manuellement, en passant par les images d’archives Internet, le photogramme ou l’expérimentation chimique, les artistes de « Hors sujet » remettent en question le statut de la photographie comme procédé dont la fonction première serait de révéler la réalité. Car loin d’en être le miroir fidèle, la photographie peut aussi bien masquer, altérer ou transfigurer le réel.

Ainsi, Matthieu Boucherit efface numériquement les sujets de photographies de presse et ne laisse la place, sur l’image, qu’à l’accessoire ou au contexte. Ces images évidées interrogent la trace (ou l’absence d’impact) que laisse toute information dans la mémoire collective. Présentées dans des cadres Ikea, ces « photos-choc » diffusées par les mass-médias font état d’une violence domestiquée, qui orne notre quotidien – bien loin d’éveiller la conscience des spectateurs…

D’ailleurs, Internet et son flux continu d’images poussent Caroline Delieutraz à matérialiser ce corps virtuel en un puzzle bien réel, dont les multiples strates soulignent la complexité des sources et des origines des images circulant sur la Toile. Tels un sédiment déposé par les flots, ces images consultables et téléchargeables en ligne semblent s’accumuler jusqu’à finir par se confondre et disparaître dans leur unicité pour recomposer la célèbre vague d’Hokusai.

Aux origines, justement, Laure Tiberghien y revient par un travail ancré au cœur de la lumière et de l’émulsion photographique. Ses photogrammes sans sujet, nés du hasard et de l’expérimentation, renouent avec l’étymologie de la photographie entendue comme pure « écriture lumineuse » produite sans appareil. La photographie s’affirme ici comme un acte de création réalisé à coups de filtres et d’interventions guidées par le geste de l’artiste.

Œuvres uniques s’opposant au caractère mécanique de la reproduction photographique, les tirages engoncés et grattés à la pointe sèche de Juliette-Andréa Elie créent des paysages oniriques, où se superposent papiers calque, papiers colorés et pliés. Ces images retouchées manuellement nous invitent à la contemplation et ouvrent un nouveau rapport au temps, face à la vitesse de diffusion accrue des images.

A l’instar du Noyé d’Hippolyte Bayard, un autoportrait datant de 1840 où le photographe met en scène sa propre disparition, la photographie demeure un outil ouvert à l’expérimentation qui peut se prendre lui-même comme objet – au lieu de se penser comme un enregistrement véridique de « ce qui a été ». Une image n’a donc plus forcément vocation à représenter fidèlement un sujet, et peut tout aussi bien réfléchir sur ses propres modalités de production. A travers « Hors sujet », la confection d’œuvres uniques, le travail sur le support et la matérialité de la photo, ou une critique de la pérennité des images, apparaissent comme autant de pistes ouvertes sur le devenir de la photographie.

François Salmeron et Dominique Clerc

 

 

Galerie Plateforme

Adresse
73 rue des Haies, 75020, Paris
www.plateforme-paris.com

Horaires
Exposition ouverte du mercredi au dimanche

de 14h30 à 19h30

 

 

Horaires
Samedi 2 novembre 2019
de 14h à 17h30

Adresse
Médiathèque Marguerite Duras,
115 Rue de Bagnolet, 75020 Paris

https://mediathequemargueriteduras.wordpress.com/

Métro : Gambetta ou Porte de Bagnolet
Tel : 01 55 25 49 10
E-mail : mediatheque.marguerite-duras@paris.fr