Biennale of the Tangible Image

During a month of exhibitions and events located in the 20th arrondissement of Paris, the Biennale de l'Image Tangible presents a selection of works that tend to break free from a classic use of the photographic medium.

Whether it is looking for new supports, hybrid techniques or a new relationship to reality, this event tends to demonstrate that photography never stops inventing. In this, the Tangible Image Biennale supports the emergence of new languages ​​and new practices related to photography : a photograph which upsets the assumptions of reality, a photograph which changes in nature, form and postulate, and which thus participates in a broadening of the field of its discipline.

The second edition of the Tangible Image Biennale focuses its calendar on the month of November 2020. It retains its roots in the 20th arrondissement, following the idea already acclaimed by the public to draw an artistic journey in eastern Paris.

Its program revolves around an exhibition curated by the organizers of the Biennale, and ten exhibitions bringing together the 31 winning artists of the call for projects (February - May 2020), selected by a jury of professionals from the world of art, image and photo. As well as an Instagram prize, an afternoon of meetings and discussions, and an in situ project in the public space.

Satellite Exhibitions 2020

Guillaume Amat / Fred Atlan / Zoé Aubry / Camille Benarab-Lopez / Damien Caccia / Julie Chovin / Paul Créange / Nicolas Descottes / Liliana Farber / Gaëlle Foray / Hideyuki Ishibashi / Farah Khelil / Mana Kikuta / Bérénice Lefebvre / Lucas Leffler / Marie Lelouche / Camille Lévêque / Lilly Lulay / Jonathan Monaghan / Ivan Murit / Julie Navarro / Stefane Perraud / Stéphanie Roland / Ikuhisa Sawada / Timothée Schelstraete / Doriane Souiloshol / Andréa Vélstraete / Doriane Souiloshol / Filipe Vilas-Boas / Mathieu Zurcher.

Phare Exhibition 2020

Xavier Bauer / Grégory Chatonsky / Antje Feger & Benjamin Stumpf / Clemens Gritl / Beate Gütschow / Claudia Larcher / Maxime Matthys / Achim Mohné / Richard Mosse / Hito Steyerl / Thierry Urbain / Emmanuel Van Der Auwera.

PHARE EXHIBITION

The flagship exhibition, curated by the organizers of the Biennale, brings together twelve French and international artists at Atelier Basfroi, around the themes of town planning, the control society and surveillance tools.

Photographers or visual artists, the artists presented highlight distorted, deconstructed, reconstructed or falsified images, and are carriers of innovative photographic ideas both on the subjects addressed and the methods used.

 

SATELLITE EXHIBITIONS

Ten satellite exhibitions take place in the partner venues and galleries of the Biennale, located in the 20e arrondissement and eastern Paris. The 31 artists exhibited were selected by a Jury of professionals from the world of art, image and photography, following a call for projects (February-May 2020).

 

MEETINGS AND DISCUSSIONS

On Saturday November 28, 2020 from 14 p.m. to 17 p.m., the Tangible Image Biennale is organizing an afternoon of meetings and discussions around new photographic practices at IESA. The works of artists exhibited during the festival, as well as the range of recording and surveillance tools in the cities, will form the backbone of these exchanges with speakers specializing in photography. ADAGP and SAIF will also respond to questions concerning the performance rights of artist-photographers and their status.

 

INSTAGRAM AWARD

An Instagram audience prize is organized ahead of the Biennale de l'Image Tangible, from October 1 to 31, 2020. The post having reached the greatest number of "likes" wins the prize, offered by Carré Bisson, partner of the event. The winner is announced on the opening day of the Biennale.

 

IN SITU PROJECT

At each Biennale, an artist's project working in the public space is selected in order to carry out an in situ project in a public place in the 20th arrondissement. This work, linked to the diversion of the photographic image, results in an installation in the urban space which will be displayed this year on urban billboards. 

 

Back to the 2018 edition

The partners of the biennale

Biennale de l'Image Tangible

Lors d’un mois d’expositions et d’événements situés dans le 20e arrondissement de Paris, la Biennale de l’Image Tangible présente une sélection d’œuvres qui tendent à s’émanciper d’un usage classique du médium photographique.

Que ce soit à la recherche de nouveaux supports, de techniques hybrides ou d’un nouveau rapport à la réalité, cet événement tend à démontrer que la photographie ne cesse jamais d’inventer. En cela, la Biennale de l’Image Tangible accompagne l’émergence de nouveaux langages et de nouvelles pratiques liés à la photographie : une photographie qui bouscule les hypothèses du réel, une photographie qui change de nature, de forme et de postulat, et qui participe ainsi à un élargissement du champ de sa discipline.

La deuxième édition de la Biennale de l’Image Tangible concentre son calendrier sur le mois de novembre 2020. Elle conserve son ancrage dans le 20e arrondissement, suivant l’idée déjà plébiscitée par le public de dessiner un parcours artistique dans l’Est parisien.

Sa programmation s’articule autour d’une exposition curatée par les organisateurs de la Biennale, et de dix expositions réunissant les 31 artistes lauréats de l’appel à projet (février – mai 2020), sélectionnés par un jury de professionnels du monde de l’art, de l’image et de la photo. Ainsi que d’un prix Instagram, d’une après-midi de rencontres-discussions, et d’un projet in situ dans l’espace public.

Expositions Satellites 2020

Guillaume Amat / Fred Atlan / Zoé Aubry / Camille Benarab-Lopez / Damien Caccia / Julie Chovin / Paul Créange / Nicolas Descottes / Liliana Farber / Gaëlle Foray / Hideyuki Ishibashi / Farah Khelil / Mana Kikuta / Bérénice Lefebvre / Lucas Leffler / Marie Lelouche / Camille Lévêque / Lilly Lulay / Jonathan Monaghan / Ivan Murit / Julie Navarro / Stefane Perraud / Stéphanie Roland /  Ikuhisa Sawada / Timothée Schelstraete / Doriane Souilhol / Andréa Vamos / Filipe Vilas-Boas / Mathieu Zurcher.

Exposition Phare 2020

Xavier Bauer / Grégory Chatonsky / Antje Feger & Benjamin Stumpf / Clemens Gritl /  Beate Gütschow / Claudia Larcher / Maxime Matthys / Achim Mohné / Richard Mosse / Hito Steyerl / Thierry Urbain / Emmanuel Van Der Auwera.

EXPOSITION PHARE

L’exposition phare, curatée par les organisateurs de la Biennale, réunit douze artistes français et internationaux à l’Atelier Basfroi, autour des thèmes de l’urbanisme, de la société de contrôle et des outils de surveillance.

Photographes ou plasticiens, les artistes présentés mettent en exergue des images détournées, déconstruites, reconstruites ou falsifiées, et sont porteurs d’idées photographiques innovantes tant sur les sujets abordés que les méthodes employées.

 

EXPOSITIONS SATELLITES

Dix expositions satellites prennent place dans les lieux et galeries partenaires de la Biennale, situés dans le 20e arrondissement et l’Est parisien. Les 31 artistes exposés ont été sélectionnés par un Jury de professionnels du monde de l’art, de l’image et de la photo, suite à un appel à projet (février-mai 2020).

 

RENCONTRES ET DISCUSSIONS

Le samedi 28 novembre 2020 de 14h à 17h, la Biennale de l’Image Tangible organise à l’IESA une après-midi de rencontres et discussions autour des nouvelles pratiques photographiques. Les œuvres d’artistes exposés lors du festival, ainsi que la portée des outils d’enregistrement et de surveillance dans les villes, constitueront la trame de ces échanges avec des intervenants spécialisés en photographie. L’ADAGP et de la SAIF répondront également aux questions qui touchent aux droits de représentation des artistes-photographes et à leur statut.

 

PRIX INSTAGRAM

Un prix du public Instagram est organisé en amont du déroulement de la Biennale de l’Image Tangible, du 1er au 31 octobre 2020. Le post ayant atteint le plus grand nombre de « likes » emporte le prix, offert par le Carré Bisson, partenaire de l’événement. Le ou la lauréat.e est annoncé.e le jour de l’ouverture de la Biennale.

 

PROJET IN SITU

A chaque Biennale, un projet d’artiste travaillant dans l’espace public est sélectionné afin de réaliser un projet in situ dans un lieu public du 20ème arrondissement. Cette œuvre, liée au détournement de l’image photographique, aboutit à une installation dans l’espace urbain qui sera cette année déployée sur des panneaux d’affichage urbain. 

 

Retour sur l'édition 2018

Les partenaires de la biennale