The Villa Belleville

01 nov - 18 nov

Opening the November 02 at 18h

Matthieu Boucherit / Thierry Fournier / Daniele Gibrat / Matthieu Lor / Helen Marcoz / Lisa Sartorio / Rafael Serrano / Michael Wittassek

Matthieu BOUCHERIT Born in Cholet in 1986. Lives and works in Paris.
Graduated in visual communication in Nantes and a Master in visual arts at the University of Toulouse 2.
Represented by the Valérie Delaunay Gallery, Paris.
The wounds, 252 series laptopograms, undisclosed, set on black and white silver paper. 2008-2018 (3 frames of 132 × 165,5 cm)

Blurred, diaphanous, the series of laptopograms seems to embody a latent image, which we do not know if it is about to disappear or to appear. Realized by contact with the screen of our computers (laptop) and fixed by argentic chemistry without being revealed, these images seem literally "exposed", as if it were to touch by the thought. Started in 2008, this series manifests a confusion between the archive and the foggy memory, it affirms the will to act on the images for lack of being able to act on the world. This is why, to consider these last, something resists. The emptiness that runs through them embodies a more palpable violence than what they hide. Rather than adding images to images, Matthieu Boucherit persists, in a sort of compulsion of repetition, to reverse the practices of retouching propaganda, in order to mitigate its effects. If it subtracts the content it will be to better reveal it or to assert the denial. The scars close, the bullet-holes disappear, the bodies and traces of blood on the ground disappear. Only the image, as a medium of memory, undergoes the violence of the screen by insolation. For Matthieu Boucherit it is not a question of making visible but of making sensitive the immoderation which makes world.

matthieuboucherit.com

-

Thierry FOURNIER Born in Oullins in 1960. Lives and works in Aubervilliers.
Graduate of the National School of Architecture of Lyon.
No need, series of three digital prints, fine art paper on dibond, 3 ex + 1 ea

No need is a series of photographs of bombings found on the web, in which the part that would allow to see and situate the action is replaced by the checkered wallpaper pattern of Photoshop. The collision between this surface and these truncated images testifies to an irreducible distance vis-à-vis the real. The term "non-suit" means the abandonment of legal proceedings, because of the impossibility of prosecution. Here, the eye meets somehow the condition of drone operators who produced these strikes, questioning what a technology also allows not to see.

www.thierryfournier.net

-

Danièle GIBRAT Born in Suresnes in 1957. Lives and works in Paris.
Horitzò: the roots. Piece on the ground: photography on pvc, photography on paper, wood 134cmx164cm / Piece on the wall: polyester layer, pen-ball, tongs64cmx63cm.

Horitzó is the Catalan name for "horizon". This is the title of a series started in 2016 and that evokes a specific place, a farmhouse, found thanks to Googlemaps. This is a place where "something has happened", long time ago. Since my childhood, this silence has surely registered in my mind a form of confusion, but above all it made me take the party of the look. Without insisting on the biographical part (my "shadow part" as Ellroy named his), anecdotal, I wanted to deal, for once frontally, with the theme of the secret and its revelation. Even when I did not make it clear, everything I did was haunted by this theme, but it was not limited to it. What the series tends to show, simply, is what the gaze aims, what lies beyond. I wanted to guess what we see (see?) The threshold of the house when we turn his back and we stand out: a landscape, which I've never seen "in real life", mountains, which look like folds ...

danielegibrat.com

-

Matthieu LOR Born in Paris in 1990, lives and works in Paris.
Graduated from the Ecole des Beaux Arts in Nantes with a DNSEP.
The eighth continent, paper, scratch ink, triptych 80x120cm.

On Earth, resources are becoming scarce. Some people then think about the exploitation of what they consider the eighth continent: the Moon.
On this satellite without atmosphere, where each action has an irreversible impact, what will become of these lunar landscapes?
These images printed with a scratch ink, place the viewer in front of a dilemma: should we scratch this surface, this landscape selene, or should we leave it intact to preserve the work?
This process that refers to the game of money, allows us to draw a parallel with our reality. Only here, we scratch the landscape, and under the ink, there is nothing to gain.
This project induces a reflection on our landscapes and their fragilities, invoking a more distant subject, that of the Moon, a place fantasy and still untouchable.

www.matthieulor.com

-

Hélène MARCOZ Born in 1974 in Vincennes. Lives and works in Lille.
Graduate in 1999 from the Ecole Nationale Superieure des Beaux-Arts of Bourges.

Concrete jungle, cross-laminated prints on dibond, 90 x 90 cm.

Several images superimposed on the same silver negative record the movement of shadows in dehumanized architectural spaces. To the question of gray gradations is added the desire to reinterpret the chiaroscuro and play, at the level of composition, with simple geometric patterns, coupled with their shadows.
These static architectures, both subjects and supports of their own representation, naturally produce only one shadow in the light of the sun. But here, under the effect of the rotation of the Earth and the process of photographic recording, a form of tension is established between the fixed, almost immutable architectural subject and the superimposition of this shadow which is multiplied and becomes dynamic or even kinetic. .

www.helenemarcoz.fr

-

Lisa SARTORIO Born in Tunisia in 1970. Lives and works in Paris.
Trained at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris and at the Institute of Advanced Studies in Fine Arts.
Represented by Galerie Binôme, Paris.
Series Here or somewhere elsePigment inkjet print on Awagami Murakumo kozo paper, framed 43,5 x 43,5 cm, 30 x 30 cm.

Starting from the critical observation of images disembodied and smoothed by the media, Lisa Sartorio captures photographs of cities ravaged by bombing, which she prints on paper Awagami kozo. She then comes to manually work the surface by exfoliation, wrinkling or crumbling. By altering these photographs of places, of which she keeps only the name of the conflict in subtitle, she brings the viewer to the epidermis of the image. By modeling her fingers, she calls forth new signs. She lays the paperwork of an experiment, when in her flatness, photography was no longer enough to evoke the story of a tragic moment. From these fleeting stories, whose traces fade from our memories Lisa Sartorio proposes to restore a materially sensitive and impacted form. The Ici ou ailleurs series therefore redoubles the collapse of the representation of contemporary conflicts by media photography. It restores our consideration of the other and the living, by interrogating by the sense of touch, the distance taken with these images.

sartorio-lisa.fr

-

Rafael SERRANO Born in Caracas in 1977. Lives and works in Paris.
Master's degree in photography and contemporary art from Paris 8 University.
Represented by ABRA Gallery, Caracas, Venezuela.
Relaxed photographic objectsCanvas canvas, 90 x 60 x 20 cm.

Invitation to conceive the photographic image not as a flat, two-dimensional surface, but as a volume that questions certain elements of the perspectivist representation system. Particular attention is paid to the physical support of the image. This work seeks to mix the fields of sculpture and photography.
The direct consequence of this photographic form which does not want to be exclusively flat is that of questioning the informative possibilities specific to the photographic medium and to favor a displacement of the referent. They are abstract sprites that confront the notion of document. They are rather a kind of anti-document, an opaque object, without context and of variable form.

www.rafaelserrano.net

-

Michael WITTASSEK Born in Bergisch (Gladbach, Germany) in 1958. Lives and works in Bergisch Gladbach.
Mélanographie, 11 b / w photographs, 181 x 112 cm each, steel cable, total dimension 300 cm, ø 150 cm.

The installation Mélanographie is an imposing black sculpture, composed of several intertwined large-format prints, which will occupy the space, as an obstacle to circumvent. These are images that have lost their reference to a recognizable reality and that then show us things from a disconcerting point of view. An air stream generated by the visitor passing through this place will move the photographic paper. Contrary to its heavy appearance, the work then shows its lightness.

www.michaelwittassek.de

Schedules
From Wednesday to Sunday
of 14h to 19h

Address
THE VILLA BELLEVILLE,
23 Rue Ramponeau, 75020 Paris

https://www.villabelleville.org/

Underground: Belleville
E-mail: elodielombarde@villabelleville.org

La Villa Belleville

01 nov - 18 nov

Vernissage le 02 Novembre à 18h

Matthieu Boucherit / Thierry Fournier / Danièle Gibrat / Matthieu Lor / Hélène Marcoz / Lisa Sartorio / Rafael Serrano / Michael Wittassek

Matthieu BOUCHERIT Né à Cholet en 1986. Vit et travaille à Paris.
Diplômé en communication visuelle à Nantes et d’un Master en arts plastiques à l’université de Toulouse 2.
Représenté par la Galerie Valérie Delaunay, Paris.
Les Blessures, Série de 252 laptopogrammes, non révélés, fixés sur papier argentique noir et blanc. 2008-2018 (3 cadres de 132×165,5 cm)

Floue, diaphane, la série des laptopogrammes semble incarner une image latente, dont on ne sait si elle est sur le point de disparaître ou d’apparaître. Réalisées par contact avec l’écran de nos ordinateurs (laptop) et fixées par chimie argentique sans être révélées, ces images paraissent littéralement « exposées », comme s’il s’agissait de toucher par la pensée.  Débutée en 2008, cette série manifeste un trouble entre l’archive et le souvenir brumeux, elle affirme la volonté d’agir sur les images à défaut de pouvoir agir sur le monde. C’est pourquoi, à bien considérer ces dernières, quelque chose résiste. Le vide qui les traverse incarne une violence plus palpable que ce qu’elles dissimulent. Plutôt que d’ajouter des images aux images, Matthieu Boucherit s’obstine, dans une sorte de compulsion de répétition, à inverser les pratiques de retouche de propagande, afin d’en atténuer ses effets. S’il en soustrait le contenu ce sera donc pour mieux le révéler ou en affirmer le déni. Les cicatrices se referment, les impacts de balles disparaissent, les corps et les traces de sang au sol s’éclipsent. Seule l’image, en tant que support de mémoire, subit la violence de l’écran par insolation.  Pour Matthieu Boucherit il ne s’agit pas de rendre visible mais de rendre sensible la démesure qui fait monde.

matthieuboucherit.com

Thierry FOURNIER Né à Oullins en 1960. Vit et travaille à Aubervilliers.
Diplômé de l’École nationale supérieure d’Architecture de Lyon.
Non-lieu, série de trois impressions numériques, papier fine art sur dibond, 3 ex + 1 e.a.

Non-lieu est une série de photographies de bombardements trouvées sur le web, dans lesquelles la partie qui permettrait de voir et de situer l’action est remplacée par le motif de fond d’écran en damiers de Photoshop. La collision entre cette surface et ces images tronquées témoigne d’une distance irréductible vis-à-vis du réel. Le terme de « non-lieu » désigne l’abandon d’une procédure judiciaire, du fait de l’impossibilité de poursuites. Ici, le regard rejoint en quelque sorte la condition des opérateurs de drones qui ont produit ces frappes, questionnant ce qu’une technologie permet aussi de ne pas voir.

www.thierryfournier.net

Danièle GIBRAT Née à Suresnes en 1957. Vit et travaille à Paris.
Horitzò : les racines. Pièce au sol: photographie sur pvc, photographie sur papier, bois 134cmx164cm / Pièce au mur : calque polyester, stylo-bille, pinces64cmx63cm.

Horitzó est le nom catalan pour « horizon ». C’est le titre d’une série commencée en 2016 et qui évoque un lieu précis, un mas, retrouvé grâce à Googlemaps. Il s’agit d’un endroit où « quelque chose s’est passé », longtemps tu. Depuis mon enfance, ce silence a sûrement inscrit dans mon esprit une forme de confusion, mais surtout il m’a fait prendre le parti du regard. Sans insister sur la part biographique (ma « part d’ombre » comme Ellroy a nommée la sienne), anecdotique,  j’ai voulu traiter, pour une fois frontalement, du thème du secret et de sa révélation. Même quand je ne me le formulais pas clairement, tout ce que j’ai fait a été hanté par ce thème, sans toutefois s’y borner. Ce que la série tend à montrer, simplement, c’est ce que le regard vise, ce qui se trouve au-delà. J’ai voulu deviner ce qu’on voit (voyait?) du seuil de la maison quand on lui tourne le dos et qu’on s’en détache: un paysage, que je n’ai jamais vu « en vrai », des montagnes, qui ressemblent à des plis…

danielegibrat.com

Matthieu LOR Né à Paris en 1990, vit et travaille à Paris.
Diplômé de l’école des Beaux Arts de Nantes d’un DNSEP.
Le huitième continent, papier, encre à gratter,  triptyque 80x120cm.

Sur Terre, les ressources se raréfient. Certains réfléchissent alors à l’exploitation de ce qu’ils considèrent comme le huitième continent : la Lune.
Sur ce satellite sans atmosphère, ou chaque action a un impact irréversible, que vont devenir ces paysages lunaires ?
Ces images imprimées avec une encre à gratter, placent le spectateur face à un dilemme : faut-il gratter cette surface, ce paysage sélène, ou faut-il le laisser intact pour préserver l’œuvre ?
Ce procédé qui renvoie au jeux d’argents, permet de faire un parallèle avec notre réalité. Seulement ici, on gratte le paysage, et sous l’encre, il n’y a rien à gagner.
Ce projet induit une réflexion sur nos paysages terrestres et leurs fragilités, en invoquant un sujet plus lointain, celui de la Lune, un lieu fantasmé et encore intouchable.

www.matthieulor.com

Hélène MARCOZ Née en 1974 à Vincennes. Vit et travaille à Lille.
Diplômée en 1999 de l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Bourges.

Concrete jungle, tirages contrecollés sur sur dibond, 90 x 90 cm.

Plusieurs images surimprimées sur un même négatif argentique enregistrent le déplacement des ombres dans des espaces architecturaux déshumanisés. A la question des dégradés de gris s’ajoute le désir de réinterpréter le clair-obscur et de jouer, au niveau de la composition, avec des motifs géométriques simples, doublés de leurs ombres portées.
Ces architectures statiques, à la fois sujets et supports de leur propre représentation ne produisent naturellement qu’une seule ombre à la lumière du soleil. Mais ici, sous l’effet de la rotation de la Terre et du processus d’enregistrement photographique, une forme de tension s’établit entre le sujet architectural fixe, presque immuable et la surimpression de cette ombre qui se démultiplie et devient dynamique voire cinétique.

www.helenemarcoz.fr

Lisa SARTORIO Née en Tunisie en 1970. Vit et travaille à Paris.
Formée à la sculpture à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Paris et à l’Institut des Hautes Etudes en Arts Plastiques.
Représentée par la Galerie Binôme, Paris.
Série Ici ou ailleurs, tirage jet d’encre pigmentaire sur papier Awagami Murakumo kozo, encadrées 43,5 x 43,5 cm, image 30 x 30 cm.

Partant du constat critique à l’égard d’images désincarnées et lissées par la diffusion médiatique, Lisa Sartorio s’empare de photographies de villes ravagées par les bombardements, qu’elle imprime sur papier Awagami kozo. Elle vient ensuite en travailler manuellement la surface par gommage, plissement ou encore effritement. En altérant ces photographies de lieux, dont elle ne conserve que le nom du conflit en sous-titre, elle amène le regardeur à l’épiderme de l’image. En la modelant de ses doigts, elle convoque dès lors de nouveaux signes. Elle charge le papier d’une expérience, lorsque dans sa planéité, la photographie ne suffisait plus à évoquer l’histoire d’un moment tragique. De ces histoires fugaces, dont les traces s’estompent de nos mémoires Lisa Sartorio propose d’en restituer une forme matériellement sensible et impactée. La série Ici ou ailleurs redouble dès lors l’effondrement de la représentation des conflits contemporains par la photographie médiatique. Elle restaure notre considération de l’autre et du vivant, en interrogeant par le sens du toucher, la distance prise avec ces images.

sartorio-lisa.fr

Rafael SERRANO Né à Caracas en 1977. Vit et travaille à Paris.
Diplôme du master en photographie et art contemporain de l’université  Paris 8.
Représenté par la Galerie ABRA, Caracas, Venezuela.
Objets photographiques détendus, toile Canvas,  90 x 60 x 20 cm.

Invitation à concevoir l´image photographique non pas comme une surface plate et bidimensionnelle, mais comme un volume qui questionne certains éléments du système de représentation perspectiviste. Notamment une attention particulière est portée au support physique de l’image. Ce travail cherche mélanger les champs de la sculpture et de la photographie.
La conséquence directe de cette forme photographique qui ne se veut pas exclusivement plate est celle de questionner les possibilités informatives propres au medium photographique et de favoriser un déplacement du réfèrent. Ce sont des images-objets abstraites qui se confrontent à la notion de document. Elles sont plutôt une sorte d’anti-document, un objet opaque, sans contexte et de forme variable. 

www.rafaelserrano.net

Michael WITTASSEK Né à Bergisch (Gladbach, Allemagne) en 1958. Vit et travaille à Bergisch Gladbach.
Mélanographie, 11 photographies n/b, 181 x 112 cm chacune, câble d‘acier, dimension totale 300 cm, ø 150 cm.

L’installation Mélanographie se présente comme une imposante sculpture noire, composée de plusieurs tirages grand format entremêlés, qui viendra occuper l’espace, comme un obstacle à contourner. Il s’agit d’images qui auraient perdu leur référence à une réalité reconnaissable et qui nous montrent alors les choses d’un point de vue déconcertant. Un courant-d’air généré par le visiteur qui passe dans ce lieu mettra en mouvement le papier photographique. Contrairement à son apparence pesante l’œuvre manifeste alors sa légèreté.

www.michaelwittassek.de

 

Horaires
Du mercredi au dimanche 
de 14h à 19h

Adresse
LA VILLA BELLEVILLE,
23 Rue Ramponeau, 75020 Paris

https://www.villabelleville.org/

Métro : Belleville
E-mail : elodielombarde@villabelleville.org