In situ project

At each Biennial, an artist project working in the public space is selected to realize a project in situ in a public place of the 20ème arrondissement.

The guest artist will deploy his project in the architecture of 20e, working in conjunction with the inhabitants of the district, and in agreement with the borough mayor. This work, linked to the diversion of the photographic image, will lead to an installation in the urban space.

IN SITU PROJECT

Artists of the 2018 edition:

Benjamin Gaulon

Benjamin Gaulon aka Recyclism is an artist, researcher, teacher at Parsons Paris The New School for Design. In each of these activities, he strives to develop a creative and critical approach around the technology, the media and the modes of consumption that they generate. He also organizes since 2005 "e-waste workshop" where the public learns circuit bending, hardware hacking, as well as the problems related to the obsolescence programmed: it diverts material apparently obsolete to recompose thus new electronic objects. Pedagogical experimentation, considered as a mode of research, completes the arsenal of tactics of this artist who recycles, hack and hijacks.

http://www.recyclism.com/

 

Martial Geoffre-Rouland

Graduate of Elisava Barcelona, ​​School of Design and Engineering, his work focuses on digital art and new technologies. Hands-on, Martial Geoffre-Rouland creates projects that explore areas as different as the web, digital installations or scenography. Since 2009, he works on technical and theoretical topics, helping participants to develop the potential of digital and code language.

https://www.screen-club.com/

 

THE PROJECT

Corrupt.video project

A project by Martial Geoffre-Rouland and Benjamin Gaulon, based on Corrupt a software developed on the web Glitch Art Software allowing its user to download and share corrupted images on www.corrupt.recyclism.com. Corrupt damages data on a binary level, resulting in unpredictable results.
The software allows its users to trap videos stored on their computer, videos from their webcam or their desktop in real time. When a clip is recorded, a video of 10 seconds and an animated GIF file are saved locally and automatically.

 

An interactive device is placed in a mini studio in a commercial Place de la Reunion, where residents can come and film themselves for one minute by interacting on a device of image corruption. The images filmed by the inhabitants are then projected onto 3 buildings in the square for two weeks after dark.

Projet In Situ

Chaque Biennale, un projet d’artiste travaillant dans l’espace public est séléctionné afin de réaliser un projet in Situ dans un lieu public du 20ème arrondissement.

L’artiste invité déploiera son projet dans l’architecture du 20e, travaillant en lien avec les habitants du quartier, et en accord avec la mairie de l’arrondissement. Cette œuvre, liée au détournement de l’image photographique, aboutira à une installation dans l’espace urbain. 

PROJET IN SITU

Artistes de l’édition 2018 :

Benjamin Gaulon

Benjamin Gaulon aka Recyclism est artiste, chercheur, enseignant à Parsons Paris The New School for Design. Dans chacune de ces activités, il s’attache à développer une approche créative et critique autour de la technologie, des médias et des modes de consommation qu’ils génèrent. Il organise également depuis 2005 des « e-waste workshop » où le public s’initie au circuit bending, au hardware hacking, ainsi qu’aux problématiques liées à l’obsolescence programmée : on y détourne du matériel en apparence obsolète pour recomposer ainsi de nouveaux objets électroniques. L’expérimentation pédagogique, envisagée comme mode de recherche, vient compléter l’arsenal des tactiques de cet artiste qui recycle, hack et détourne.

http://www.recyclism.com/

 

Martial Geoffre-Rouland

Diplomé d’Elisava Barcelona, École supérieure de design et d’ingénierie, ses travaux sont axés sur l’art numérique et les nouvelles technologies. Touche-à-tout, ses projets touchent des domaines aussi différents que le web, les installations numériques ou la scénographie. Depuis 2009, il intervient sur des sujets techniques et théoriques, en aidant les participants à développer le potentiel du numérique et le language du code.

https://www.screen-club.com/

 

LE PROJET

Projet Corrupt.video

Un projet de Martial Geoffre-Rouland et Benjamin Gaulon, basé sur Corrupt un logiciel basé sur le web Glitch Art Software permettant à son utilisateur de télécharger et de partager des images corrompues sur www.corrupt.recyclism.com. Corrupt endommage les données sur un niveau binaire, ce qui entraîne des résultats imprévisibles.
Le logiciel permet à ses utilisateurs de piéger des vidéos stockées sur leur ordinateur, des vidéos de leur webcam ou de leur bureau en temps réel. Lorsqu’un clip est enregistré, une vidéo de 10 secondes et un fichier GIF animé sont sauvegardés localement et automatiquement.

 

Un dispositif interactif est disposé dans un mini studio ammenagé dans un commerce de la Place de la Reunion, où les habitants peuvent venir se filmer pendant une minute en intégragissant sur un dispositif de coruption de l’image. Les images filmées par les habitants sont ensuite projetées sur 3 immeubles de la placedurant deux semaines dés la tombée de la nuit.