Platform

16 nov - 09 dec

Opening the November 16 at 18h

Edouard Burgeat / Claire Jolin / Clarisse Tranchard /
Melody Seiwert / Janaina Wagner

Edouard BURGEAT Born in 1988 in Paris.Vit and works in Paris.
Edouard Burgeat has a diversified practice through which he explores the memory, collective and individual, as well as history and its paradoxes by addressing subjects as diverse as varied.
Series India in a few stones, photo-transfers on marble, variable dimensions.

These pieces between photography and sculpture are made with pieces of broken marble, collected in India. They come from a slum where workers and their families live during the construction of new buildings for wealthier people. The material used is the remaining marble from the site, the unused falls and surplus, on which the artist's analogue photographs are manually transferred. The photographs themselves are images of people living in these slums, their families and their habits, highlighting the humble souls on this precious material that they work and then abandon each day without measuring its value. A tribute to these nomadic men and women immortalized in stone.

www.edouardburgeat.com

Claire JOLIN Born in 1963 in Metz. Lives and works in Metz.
Studied art in Norway and then in France at the Beaux-Arts in Metz.
Practice an experimental photography by creating dreamlike images where she mixes objects, paper clichés, photocopies ... The grain of the film, the double exposure, the play on the final materiality of the image scramble the tracks of time and the medium.
Fensch, Great Pyramid, inkjet print on matte paper, 175 x 160 x 35 cm.

“Fensch” is a small steel valley in Lorraine, my region of birth where I still live and work today. It is the place that I chose to reflect on the mechanisms of construction of the collective imagination, these images that we forge and that we transmit to ourselves in order to face the world. To show this mechanism, I create devices that activate several modes of perception and encourage the viewer to experiment with their own mental construction. I explore the plasticity and two-dimensionality of images while keeping the simplicity of materials and shapes. I give flesh to images resulting from an immaterial thought, memory. The destabilized eye plunges into a photograph without beginning or end. The heavy sculpture recalls the telluric power of the steel industry.

www.clairejolin.com

Clarisse TRANCHARD Born in 1966 in Sainte-Adresse. Lives and works in Aubervillers.
The search for "being in the world" is at the heart of his artistic approach. Her work explores places of anger and helplessness, and looks at the issues raised by the world around us.
Bucharest, photography, wood, neon, 106 x 87 x 30 cm.

Bucharest reflects a melancholy, tragic universe. It is a city where the markers of a festive period are absent. People are crushed by misery and a total lack of landmarks; their identity disappeared, they are no more than the ghosts of themselves. Placed in the middle of a central square, surrounded by Coca Cola, H&M and Adidas, there is this fountain, adorned with Christmas attire that will never light up. I decide to reinvest it with its holiday lights. The photographic print is mounted on a box, pierced with LEDs, which are positioned and illuminate the garlands which have remained extinct. But that's just a picture. And the image I saw of Bucharest is of a city in ruins - it is also the first time that I am confronted with the remnants of a contemporary war.

www.clarissetranchard.com

Melody SEIWERT Born in 1960. Lives and works in Strasbourg.
Series From the tiny to the infinite, from the plant to the cosmos, pigment inkjet print, laminating on Dibond, 60 x 90 cm.

In the coherence of my research trajectory, scrutinizing the visible, I now explore the micro vegetal world and its infinite phenomena of putrescence. I create "vegetal negatives" from material of floral origin placed between two glass plates. Over time, new life emerges and these microorganisms thus become the main actors of an organic image in the making. In a process of perpetual mutation, they break down shapes and suggest colors that mingle with the secret of a dance. Vibrating energy constantly expanding just like the universe, it reminds us of the fabulous organization of matter from the galaxy to the living cell. I glimpse in my garden, the secret of the living ... "macrocosmic" images of everything that responds in the universe, mirrored in the infinitely small. I discover a cosmic order, a trajectory of particles which seems to join that of galaxies, as if the flower contained the whole cosmos.

www.melodyseiwert.com

Janaina WAGNER Born in 1989 in São Paulo. Lives and works in Tourcoing and São Paulo.
The conceptual point of Janaina's work is the relationship of limit, control and restraint that the man-kind establishes with the world.

Werewolf (Werewolf), Video.

Janaina Wagner dedicated her residency in Belo Horizonte (in Minas Gerais, Brazil) in search of the figure of the Werewolf. Through the maxim "man is a wolf for man", the artist depicts the mining territory in a landscape sculpted by man's tools - a ruin of the ground with post-apocalyptic appearances, a tropical scenario conceived for the production of a so-called progress, a development. “I imagined the Werewolf as an amalgam merging in a single image the Human and the Animal. It functions as a gateway to question the processes of domination in the history of civilizations. I perceive him as a hybrid being, living in intercalated spaces and ensuring the transition between reality and invention, lies and truth, stories and History (with a capital H) ”

www.janainawagner.com

Schedules
From Wednesday to Sunday
of 14h30 to 19h30

Address
PLATFORM,
73, rue des Haies 75020 Paris, France

http://www.plateforme-paris.com

Subways: Avron, Maraîchers, Buzenval
Tel: 09 54 92 23 35
E-mail: info@plateforme-paris.com

Plateforme

16 nov - 10 dec

Vernissage le 16 Novembre à 18h

Edouard Burgeat / Claire Jolin / Clarisse Tranchard /
Mélody Seiwert / Janaina Wagner

Edouard BURGEAT Né en 1988 à Paris.Vit et travaille à Paris.
Edouard Burgeat a une pratique diversifiée à travers laquelle il explore la mémoire, collective et individuelle, ainsi que l’Histoire et ses paradoxes en abordant des sujets aussi divers que variés.
Série L’Inde en quelques pierres, photo-transferts sur marbre, dimensions variables

Ces pièces entre photographie et sculpture sont réalisées avec des morceaux de marbre brisés, collectés en Inde. Ils proviennent d’un bidonville où vivent des travailleurs et leurs familles durant la construction de nouveaux immeubles pour des personnes plus fortunés. Le matériel utilisé est le marbre restant du chantier, les chutes et le surplus non utilisés, sur lequel les photographies analogiques de l’artiste sont transférées manuellement. Les photographies elles-mêmes sont des images des personnes vivant dans ces bidonvilles, de leurs familles et de leurs habitudes, mettant en évidence les humbles âmes sur ce matériel précieux qu’ils travaillent puis délaissent chaque jour sans en mesurer la valeur. Un hommage a ces hommes et femmes nomades immortalisés dans la pierre.

www.edouardburgeat.com

Claire JOLIN Née en 1963 à Metz. Vit et travaille à Metz.
A étudié l’art en Norvège puis en France aux Beaux-Arts de Metz.
Pratique une photographie expérimentale en créant des images oniriques où elle mélange objets, clichés papier, photocopies… Le grain de l’argentique, la double exposition, le jeu sur la matérialité finale de l’image brouillent les pistes du temps et du médium.
Fensch, Grande Pyramide, tirage jet d’encre sur papier mat, 175 x 160 x 35 cm

« Fensch » est une petite vallée sidérurgique de Lorraine, ma région de naissance où je vis et travaille encore aujourd’hui. C’est l’endroit que j’ai choisi pour réfléchir sur les mécanismes de construction de l’imaginaire collectif, ces images que nous forgeons et que nous nous transmettons pour affronter le monde. Pour montrer ce mécanisme, je crée des dispositifs qui activent plusieurs modes de perception et incitent le regardeur expérimenter sa propre construction mentale. J’explore la plasticité et la bidimensionnalité des images tout en gardant la simplicité des matériaux et des formes. Je donne de la chair aux images issues d’une pensée immatérielle, la mémoire. L’œil déstabilisé plonge dans une photographie sans début ni fin. La lourde sculpture rappelle la puissance tellurique de la sidérurgie.

www.clairejolin.com

Clarisse TRANCHARD Née en 1966 à Sainte-Adresse. Vit et travaille à Aubervillers.
La recherche de ce qu’est « être dans le monde » se trouve au cœur de sa démarche artistique. Son travail explore ainsi des endroits de colère et d’impuissance, et regarde les problématiques soulevées par le monde qui nous entoure.
Bucarest, photographie, bois, néon, 106 x 87 x 30 cm

Bucarest reflète un univers mélancolique, tragique. C’est une ville où les marqueurs d’une période festive sont absents. Les gens sont écrasés par la misère et une absence totale de repères ; leur identité disparue, ils ne sont plus que les fantômes d’eux-mêmes. Posée au milieu d’une place centrale, entourée par Coca Cola, H&M et Adidas, il y a cette fontaine, parée des atours de Noël qui jamais ne s’allumeront. Je décide de la réinvestir de ses lumières de fêtes. Le tirage photographique est monté sur un boitier, percé de leds, qui viennent se positionner et éclairer les guirlandes restées éteintes. Mais ce n’est qu’une image. Et l’image que j’ai vu de Bucarest est celle d’une ville en ruine – c’est aussi la première fois que je suis confrontée aux restes d’une guerre contemporaine.

www.clarissetranchard.com

Melody SEIWERT Née en 1960. Vit et travaille à Strasbourg.
Série De l’infime à l’infini, du végétal au cosmos, tirage jet d’encre pigmentaire, contre- collage  sur Dibond, 60 x90 cm

Dans la cohérence de ma trajectoire de recherche, scrutant le visible, j’ explore à présent le micro monde végétal et ses phénomènes de putrescence infinis. Je crée des   » négatifs végétaux »  à partir de matière d’origine florale déposée entre deux plaques de verre. Avec le temps, une nouvelle vie surgit et ces micro-organismes deviennent ainsi les principaux acteurs d’une image organique en train de se faire.  Dans un processus de perpétuelle mutation, ils décomposent les formes et suggèrent des couleurs qui se mêlent au secret d’une danse. Energie vibrante  en constante expansion tout comme l’univers, elle nous rappelle l’organisation fabuleuse de  la matière de la galaxie à la cellule vivante. J’entrevois dans mon jardin, le secret du vivant… images « macrocosmiques »  de tout ce qui se répond dans l’univers, en miroir dans l’infiniment petit. Je découvre un ordre cosmique, une trajectoire des particules qui semble rejoindre celle des galaxies, comme si la fleur contenait tout le cosmos.

www.melodyseiwert.com

Janaina WAGNER Née en 1989 à São Paulo. Vit et travaille à Tourcoing et São Paulo.
Le point conceptuel du travail de Janaina sont les relations de limite, de contrôle et de contention que le genre homme établit avec le monde.

Werewolf (Loup Garou), Vidéo.

Janaina Wagner a consacré sa résidence au Belo Horizonte (à Minas Gerais, au Brésil) à la recherche de la figure du Werewolf. À travers la maxime « l’homme est un loup pour l’homme », l’artiste dépeint le territoire minier en un paysage sculpté par les outils de l’Homme – une ruine du sol aux allures post-apocalyptiques, un scénario tropique conçu pour la production d’un prétendu progrès, un développement. « J’ai imaginé le Werewolf comme un amalgame fusionnant dans une seule image l’Humain et l’Animal. Il fonctionne comme une passerelle pour questionner les processus de domination dans l’histoire des civilisations. Je le perçois comme un être hybride, vivant dans les espaces intercalaires et assurant la transition entre la réalité et l’invention, le mensonge et la vérité, les histoires et l’Histoire (avec un grand H) »

www.janainawagner.com

Horaires
Du mercredi au dimanche
de 14h30 à 19h30

Adresse
PLATEFORME,
73, rue des Haies 75020 Paris, France

http://www.plateforme-paris.com

Métros : Avron, Maraîchers, Buzenval
Tel : 09 54 92 23 35
E-mail : info@plateforme-paris.com