Memory of the Future

08 Nov - 01 Dec

Opening the November 10 at 18h

Sylvie Bonnot / Nicolas Hosteing / Swen Renault /
Julie Rochereau

Sylvie BONNOT Born in 1982. lives and works in Saint Léger under La Bussière.
Represented by Galerie Ségolène Brossette, Paris and The Merchant House, Amsterdam
Great Shioji Maru Moulting, 112 x 163 cm

The two snapshots used here were taken from a cruise ship in Tokyo Bay during a photographic cruise on a route from Moscow to Tokyo via Vladivostok. Photographic images are transposed onto paper by a specific process. They were chosen from a large number of shots, they had to respect a correspondence between the subject, the space and the architecture.
The detachment of the gelatin and the rest of the image on another support imply a determining random part. She brings new work: new lines of thought in the relationship to the subject, the landscape and the image. The result of the process evokes fluid movements, paroxically brittle and aqueous that allow to waltz the subject, evoking the collapse of the image.
The gesture of the drawing impinges on that of the photographer, it is part of the fiber of the photographic material. The phenomenon of "moulting" here tends to destructure the mechanical trace to be the starting point of another trip.
These alterations reappropriate the memory of the landscape surveyed on the reported images.
Photography is not enough to remember. The moult restores a becoming.

www.sylviebonnot.com

-

Nicolas HOSTEING Born in 1985 in St Michel. Lives and works in Pantin
A studied history, art history and photography at Bordeaux III and Paris 8. His work is based on the photographic image to prolong the narrative aspect to excess.
The dancers (Simon), uv printing on PVC crystal, aluminum, 80 x 60 X 30 cm.

This piece is extracted from the installation Twelfth Night : The night of kings is a double reference; a play by Shakespeare and a Charente nightclub set on fire at the end of the 80 years.
The installation borrows from the two references, the theater takes the curtains, the notion of decoration and light, at the festival it borrows the freedom left to each person to embody, or not, a character and the fragmented, uncertain and moving memories that she leaves. The images are the link between the two moments, to those who will come to see them in the day they will appear with the coldness of the private scenery of its actors, the night visitors will be able to mix, to be confused with them or to detach them.


www.nicolas-hosteing.com

-

Swen RENAULT Born in 1990 in Paris. Vit t works in Paris.
Graduate at the School of Graphic Arts of the City Hall of Paris and the National School of Photography in Arles. Its interest arises on everyday things, landscapes and changing territories but also on our contemporary relationship to the image, internet, television ...
Families, laminated framed photos 60cmx90cm

In the age of the Internet, we share images like never before. The photographs and portraits of vernacular families are massively shared. These images come from fifty photographs of amateurs found online. Each image is superimposed on 2% opacity to create a single photo. The images are found via a keyword search, bringing together a multitude of visuals based on the same pattern resulting in a montage acting as a collective consciousness. This project shows that, despite a different aesthetic, the "family" photos share a certain uniformity. The theme, the framing, the composition of the image are systematically the same, acting as a subconscious photograph. The image obtained from these photographs is abstract, a feeling of unity is still very present.

swen-renault.com

-

Julie ROCHEREAU Born in 1982 in Fresnes. Lives and works in Montreuil.
Graduate of the School of Image Les Gobelins in Shooting section, currently in Master 2, course Photography and Contemporary Art (CAP) in Paris 8.
Entroptiques, photographs, neons, 70x15x120cm

Entroptique is a research on the entropy of landscape in the sense that Robert Smithson defined it; a destruction without possible return.
From 1967, Robert Smithson is surprised by the proliferation of "ruins upside down" in his hometown of Passaic.
The new standardized constructions come out of the ground, the building sites pierce the landscape, creating a "0 panorama", a dystopian emptiness.
These "inverted ruins" come to occupy the few uncontrolled natural spaces, in which the fauna, the flora but also the beings, can bloom far from the ambient control.
Today, it is no longer about layers superimposed as Smithson described them, but rather radical destruction to rebuild what is already ruined, ruins of the past, ruins of the future, ruins of the imaginary and the sensitive .

www.julierochereau.net

-

Clarisse TRANCHARD Born in 1966 in Sainte-Adresse. Lives and works in Aubervillers.
The search for "being in the world" is at the heart of his artistic approach. Her work explores places of anger and helplessness, and looks at the issues raised by the world around us.
The Trump World Tower, photography, wood, neon, 150 x 100 x 15 cm

TTWT is composed of luminous letters taken at the foot of one of Trump's buildings. The image of this detail contains in itself the entire tower, the fallacious representation of the liberal system embodied by Trump. The irony, the cynicism of this piece evokes the state of the world lies in its presentation: a trap, an inevitable fall, a flagrant instability. The photograph is embedded in a rude wooden case, backlit by a neon. The set is positioned obliquely and supported by a wooden stick.

www.clarissetranchard.com

Schedules
Monday to Saturday
of 11h00 to 19h00

Address
MEMORY OF THE FUTURE,
45-47 rue Ramponeau 75020 Paris, France

http://memoire-a-venir.org

Underground: Belleville, Couronnes or Pyrenees
Tel: 09 51 17 18 75
E-mail: mc.berdaguer@memoire-a-venir.org

Mémoire de l’Avenir

08 nov - 01 déc

Vernissage le 10 Novembre à 18h

Sylvie Bonnot / Nicolas Hosteing / Swen Renault /
Julie Rochereau

Sylvie BONNOT Née en 1982. vit et travaille à Saint Léger sous La Bussière.
Représentée par la Galerie Ségolène Brossette, Paris et The Merchant House, Amsterdam
Grande Mue Shioji Maru,  112 x 163 cm

Les deux instantanés utilisés ici ont été pris d’un bateau de croisière dans la baie de Tokyo lors d’une campagne photographique sur un trajet allant de Moscou à Tokyo en passant par Vladivostok. Les images photographiques sont transposées sur papier par un procédé spécifique. Elles ont a été choisies parmi un nombre important de prises de vues, elles devaient respecter une adéquation entre le sujet, l’espace et l’architecture.
Le décollement de la gélatine et la repose de l’image sur un autre support impliquent une part aléatoire déterminante. Elle amène un nouveau travail : de nouvelles pistes de réflexion dans le rapport au sujet, au paysage et à l’image. Le résultat du procédé évoque des mouvements fluides, paroxalement cassants et aqueux qui permettent de faire valser le sujet, en évoquant l’effondrement de l’image.
Le geste du dessin empiète sur celui du photographe, il s’inscrit dans la fibre du matériau photographique. Le phénomène de “mue” tend ici à déstructurer la trace mécanique pour être le point de départ d’un autre voyage.
Ces altérations se réapproprient la mémoire du paysage arpenté sur les images rapportées.
La photographie ne suffit pas au souvenir. La mue lui restitue un devenir.

www.sylviebonnot.com

Nicolas HOSTEING Né en 1985 à St Michel. Vit et travaille à Pantin
A a étudié l’histoire, l’histoire de l’art et la photographie à Bordeaux III et Paris 8. Son travail s’appuie sur l’image photographique pour en prolonger l’aspect narratif à outrance.
Les danseurs (Simon), impression uv sur PVC cristal, aluminium,  80 x 60  x 30 cm.

Cette pièce est extraite de l’installation La nuit des rois : La nuit des rois est une double référence; à une pièce de Shakespeare et à un night-club charentais incendié à la fin des années 80. 
L’installation emprunte aux deux références, au théâtre elle prend les rideaux, la notion de décor et de lumière, à la fête elle emprunte la liberté laissé à chacun d’incarner, ou non, un personnage et l’aspect morcelé, incertain et mouvant des souvenirs qu’elle laisse. Les images font le lien entre les deux moments, à ceux qui viendront les voir le jour elles apparaîtront avec la froideur du décor privé de ses acteurs, les visiteurs de nuit pourront s’y mêler, se confondre avec elles ou s’en détacher.


www.nicolas-hosteing.com

Swen RENAULT Né en 1990 à Paris. Vit t travaille à Paris.
Diplômé à l’École d’Arts Graphiques de la mairie de Paris et de l’École Nationale Supérieure de la Photographie d’Arles. Son intérêt se pose sur des choses du quotidien, paysages et territoires en mutation mais également sur notre rapport contemporain à l’image, internet, télévision…
Familles, photos encadrées contrecollées 60cmx90cm

À l’ère d’Internet, nous partageons des images comme jamais auparavant. Les photographies et portraits de familles vernaculaires sont massivement partagées. Ces images proviennent de cinquante photographies d’amateurs trouvées en ligne. Chaque image est superposée à 2 % d’opacité pour créer une seule photo. Les images sont trouvées via une recherche par mots clés, regroupant ainsi une multitude de visuels basé sur le même motif résultant dans un montage agissant comme une conscience collective. Ce projet montre que, malgré une esthétique différente, les photos de « famille » partagent une certaine uniformité. Le thème, le cadrage, la composition de l’image sont systématiquement les mêmes, agissant comme une photographie subconsciente. L’image obtenue à partir de ces photographies est abstraite, un sentiment d’unité reste encore très présent.

swen-renault.com

Julie ROCHEREAU Née en 1982 à Fresnes. Vit et travaille à Montreuil.
Diplômée de l’Ecole de L’Image Les Gobelins en section Prise de vue, actuellement en Master 2, parcours Photographie et Art Contemporain (PAC) à Paris 8.
Entroptiques, photographies, neons, 70x15x120cm

Entroptique est une recherche sur l’entropie du paysage au sens où Robert Smithson la définissait ; une destruction sans retour possible.
Dès 1967, Robert Smithson s’étonne de la prolifération de « ruines à l’envers » dans sa ville natale de Passaic.
Les constructions nouvelles uniformisées sortent de terre, les chantiers trouent le paysage, créant un « panorama 0 », un vide dystopique.
Ces « ruines inversées » viennent occuper le peu d’espaces naturels non maîtrisés, dans lesquels la faune, la flore mais aussi les êtres, peuvent s’épanouir loin du tout contrôle ambiant.
Aujourd’hui, il ne s’agit plus de strates se superposant comme Smithson les décrivaient, mais plutôt de destruction radicale pour reconstruire ce qui est déjà ruine, ruines du passé, ruines de l’avenir, ruines de l’imaginaire et du sensible.

www.julierochereau.net

Clarisse TRANCHARD Née en 1966 à Sainte-Adresse. Vit et travaille à Aubervillers.
La recherche de ce qu’est « être dans le monde » se trouve au cœur de sa démarche artistique. Son travail explore ainsi des endroits de colère et d’impuissance, et regarde les problématiques soulevées par le monde qui nous entoure.
The Trump World Tower, photographie, bois, néon, 150 x 100 x 15 cm

TTWT est composée des lettres lumineuses prises au pied d’un des immeubles de Trump. L’image de ce détail contient en elle seule la tour entière, la représentation fallacieuse du système libéral incarné par Trump. L’ironie, le cynisme de cette pièce évoque l’état du monde réside dans sa présentation : un piège, une chute inévitable, une instabilité flagrante. La photographie est encastrée dans un grossier boitier de bois, rétro-éclairée par un néon. L’ensemble est positionné à l’oblique et soutenu par une baguette en bois.

www.clarissetranchard.com

 

Horaires
Du lundi au samedi
de 11h00 à 19h00

Adresse
MÉMOIRE DE L’AVENIR,
45-47 rue Ramponeau 75020 Paris, France

http://memoire-a-venir.org

Métro : Belleville, Couronnes ou Pyrénées
Tel : 09 51 17 18 75
E-mail : mc.berdaguer@memoire-a-venir.org