Meetings and debates

8 december 2018 : Meetings and debates at the Médiathèque Marguerite Duras

Saturday 8 December 2018 from 13h to 17h30, the Biennial of Tangible Image organizes to the Media Library Marguerite Duras an afternoon of meetings and discussions about new practices photographs, the history of experimental photography and the advent of new tools digital. Are invited: two artists presented in the flagship exhibition of the Biennale (visible from 9 to 18 november 2018 at Red Studio, 25 rue Boyer, 75020 Paris), as well as theoreticians, historians and critics specialized in photography, contemporary art and digital art.

Saturday 8th December XNUMX

13H to 17H30

Media library Marguerite Duras
115 Street of Bagnolet, 75020 Paris

13h15-14h30
Discussion between Juliette-Andréa Elie and François Salmeron.
Discussion between Caroline Delieutraz and François Salmeron.

Juliette-Andréa Elie, photographer and visual artist represented by the Baudoin-Lebon gallery (Paris) and the Baro Gallery (Sao Paulo), and Caroline Delieutraz, visual artist represented by the gallery 22,48m2, will expose the stakes of their work and their approaches to François Salmeron, art critic, teacher in photography at Paris 8 University and co-director general of the Tangible Image Biennial. The artists will explain to the public their approaches, their methods and answer their questions.

Juliette-Andréa Elie
Born in 1985, Juliette-Andréa Elie lives between Brazil and France. She graduated from ESBANM in Nantes (2010)
and Concordia University in Montreal.
Represented by Baudoin-Lebon Gallery (Paris) and Baro Gallery (Sao Paulo).
https://julietteandreaelie.com/

Caroline Delieutraz
Born in 1982. Lives and works in Paris.
Represented by the gallery 22,48 m² (Paris).
http://www.delieutraz.net/fr/

François Salmeron
Art critic member of the AICA (International Association of Art Critics), journalist, artistic advisor, lecturer in the Department of Photography of Paris 8 University, associate general director of the Tangible Image Biennial.
https://salmeronfrancois.wordpress.com/

***

15h-15h45
Conference by Marc Lenot.
"A short history of experimental photography".
Author of the book Playing against devices, published by Éditions Photosynthèses (Arles), Marc Lenot retraces it the evolution of experimental photography through the analysis of the works of a hundred photographers. Indeed, since its inception, photography has never ceased to experiment, and has never been limited to the mere function of reproduction or documentation of reality. It would also be interesting to understand that photography did not wait for the advent of digital technology to experiment and change our vision of reality.

Marc Lenot (born in 1948, Polytechnique, graduated from MIT, master of the EHESS) supported in June 2016 a thesis on experimental photography at the University Paris 1 Sorbonne under the direction of Michel Poivert. He has also written several essays on Czech photographer Miroslav Tichý. Winner 2014 of the Critics' Prize awarded by the French section of the AICA (International Association of Art Critics), he was, in this capacity, the publisher of the book Estefanía Peñafiel Loaiza, preliminary fragments (the presses of the real , 2015). He is also the author of the blog Glasses Rouges on contemporary art published under the aegis of Le Monde (http://lunettesrouges.blog.lemonde.fr/). He shares his time between Paris and Lisbon.

***

16h-17h30
Discussion-debate between Jean-Luc Soret, Dominique Moulon and Fanny Lambert, hosted by the team of the Biennial the Tangible Image.
«Recoveries, hijacking, 3d scan, image banks, Google view, algorithms, manipulations digital, as many processes and contemporary processes of creating an image.
Are we losing the link with the photographic act intrinsically linked to the real and the tangible? "
The Tangible Image Biennale offers a series of questions on the advent of news image technologies, and if the "umbilical" link that seemed to link photography to reality is definitely broken, or in a phase of profound mutation.
How the multiplicity of tools and their ease of use and adaptation (new sources of capture or of productions of images. Internet, image bank, 3D technologies ...), facilitate a positioning in the face of reality on the part of image creators?
The important appearance of unique works and interventions on the photographic material itself from artists is it not a tendency to find this link with a certain materiality or reality tangible ?
Faced with the exponential production of images and their interpenetration, or stops their appropriation as what is the artist's work of art, and what makes it unique?
Is the single piece the only answer?

Jean-Luc Soret is curator, responsible for new media projects of the European House of Photography (MEP), co-founder and artistic director of the International @rt Outsiders Festival which was organized at the MEP from 2000 to 2011. Since 2003 he has organized exhibitions or collaborated with many events devoted to artistic practices inspired by research or spatial activity. It is, moreover, member of the Leonardo Space Art Working Group (USA), of the Leonardo / Olats Space and the Scientific Council Arts Project (Fr), from the Zero-Gravity Art Consortium (US).
http://www.jeanlucsoret.fr/

Dominique Moulon is a teacher, researcher, art critic and independent curator. Holder of a doctorate in Arts and Sciences of Art, he is a member of the Art & Flux laboratory of the Mixed Research Unit ACTE (CNRS / University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne), of the International Association of Critics of Art (AICA) and the International Association of Curators of Contemporary Art (IKT).
http://dominiquemoulon.com/

Graduated from a cycle of museology at the Ecole du Louvre, Fanny Lambert is art critic, curator Independent Exhibition (CEA), in charge of the Contemporary Art Center at the Gradiva Gallery, and teacher. Specialized in contemporary art and photography, she is particularly interested in the body in the image and in the image contained in the archive but also in the specificities demonstration of so-called ephemeral or performative productions. She collaborated with The Eye of Photography and at Beaux Arts Magazine. It focuses on bringing contemporary art and the image into current practices. Since 2016, she teaches the History of Art from the 1960 years to the present day at the University Paris 8, where she develops an axis dedicated to the critical perception of the image.
http://fannylambert.com/FL/FL.html

Schedules
Saturday 8th December XNUMX
13H to 17H30

Address
Media library Marguerite Duras,
115 Street of Bagnolet, 75020 Paris

https://mediathequemargueriteduras.wordpress.com/

Metro: Gambetta or Porte de Bagnolet
Tel: 01 55 25 49 10
E-mail: mediatheque.marguerite-duras@paris.fr

Rencontres et débats

8 décembre 2018 : Rencontres et débats à la Médiathèque Marguerite Duras

Le samedi 8 décembre 2018 de 13h à 17h30, la Biennale de l’Image Tangible organise à la Médiathèque Marguerite Duras une après-midi de rencontres et de discussions autour des nouvelles pratiques photographiques, de l’histoire de la photographie expérimentale et de l’avènement des nouveaux outils numériques. Sont invités : deux artistes présentées dans l’exposition phare de la Biennale (visible du 9 au 18 novembre 2018 au Red Studio, 25 rue Boyer, 75020 Paris), ainsi que des théoriciens, historiens et critiques spécialisés en photographie, en art contemporain et en art numérique.

Samedi 8 décembre

de 13h à 17h30

Médiathèque Marguerite Duras
115 Rue de Bagnolet, 75020 Paris

13h15-14h30
Discussion entre Juliette-Andréa Elie et François Salmeron.
Discussion entre Caroline Delieutraz et François Salmeron.

Juliette-Andréa Elie, photographe et artiste-plasticienne représentée par la galerie Baudoin-Lebon (Paris) et la Baro Gallery (Sao Paulo), et Caroline Delieutraz, artiste plasticienne représentée par la galerie 22,48m2, exposeront les enjeux de leur travail et de leurs démarches à François Salmeron, critique d’art, enseignant en photographie à l’Université Paris 8 et co-directeur général de la Biennale de l’Image Tangible. Les artistes expliciteront au public leurs approches, leurs méthodes et répondront à ses questions.

Juliette-Andréa Elie
Née en 1985, Juliette-Andréa Elie vit entre le Brésil et la France. Elle est diplômée de l’ESBANM à Nantes (2010)
et de la Concordia University à Montréal.
Représentée par la galerie Baudoin-Lebon (Paris) et la Baro Gallery (Sao Paulo).
https://julietteandreaelie.com/

Caroline Delieutraz
Née en 1982. Vit et travaille à Paris.
Représentée par la galerie 22,48 m² (Paris).
http://www.delieutraz.net/fr/

François Salmeron
Critique d’art membre de l’AICA (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art), journaliste, conseiller artistique, chargé de cours au Département de Photographie de l’Université Paris 8, directeur général associé de la Biennale de l’Image Tangible.
https://salmeronfrancois.wordpress.com/

***

15h-15h45
Conférence de Marc Lenot.
« Petite histoire de la photographie expérimentale ».
Auteur de l’ouvrage Jouer contre les appareils, paru aux Éditions Photosynthèses (Arles), Marc Lenot y retrace l’évolution de la photographie expérimentale à travers l’analyse des œuvres d’une centaine de photographes. En effet, depuis ses débuts, la photographie n’a jamais cessé d’expérimenter, et ne s’est jamais limitée à la simple fonction de reproduction ou de documentation du réel. Il serait également intéressant de comprendre que la photo n’a pas attendu l’avènement du numérique pour expérimenter et modifier notre vision du réel.

Marc Lenot (né en 1948, Polytechnicien, diplômé du M.I.T., master de l’EHESS) a soutenu en juin 2016 une thèse sur la photographie expérimentale à l’Université Paris 1 Sorbonne sous la direction de Michel Poivert. Il a aussi écrit plusieurs essais sur le photographe tchèque Miroslav Tichý. Lauréat 2014 du Prix de la critique décerné par la section française de l’AICA (Association internationale des Critiques d’Art), il a été, à ce titre, l’éditeur du livre Estefanía Peñafiel Loaiza, fragments liminaires (les presses du réel, 2015). Il est aussi l’auteur du blog Lunettes Rouges sur l’art contemporain publié sous l’égide du Monde (http://lunettesrouges.blog.lemonde.fr/). Il partage son temps entre Paris et Lisbonne.

***

16h-17h30
Discussion-débat entre Jean-Luc Soret, Dominique Moulon et Fanny Lambert, animée par l’équipe de la Biennale de l’Image Tangible.
« Récupérations, détournements, scan 3d, banques d’images, Google view, algorithmes, manipulations numériques, autant de procédés et processus contemporains de créations d’une image.
Sommes-nous en train de perdre le lien avec l’acte photographique intrinsèquement lié au réel et au tangible ? »
La Biennale de l’Image Tangible propose une série de questionnements sur l’avènement des nouvelles technologies de l’image, et si le lien «ombilical» qui semblait relier la photographie au réel est définitivement rompu, ou en phase de mutation profonde.
En quoi la multiplicité des outils et leur facilité d’utilisation et d’adaptation (nouvelles sources de captation ou de productions d’images. Internet, banque d’images, technologies 3D…), facilitent un glissement de positionnement face au réel de la part des créateurs d’images ?
L’apparition importante d’œuvres uniques et d’interventions sur la matière photographique elle-même de la part des artistes n’est-elle pas une tendance visant à retrouver ce lien avec une certaine matérialité ou réalité tangible ?
Devant la production exponentielle d’images et leur interpénétration, ou s’arrête leur appropriation en tant qu’œuvre d’art par l’artiste, et qu’est ce qui la rend unique ?
La pièce unique est-elle la seule réponse ?

Jean-Luc Soret est commissaire d’exposition, responsable des projets nouveaux médias de la Maison Européenne de la Photographie (MEP), co-fondateur et directeur artistique du Festival International @rt Outsiders qui fut organisé à la MEP de 2000 à 2011. Depuis 2003 il a organisé des expositions ou collaboré à de nombreux événements consacrés aux pratiques artistiques inspirées par la recherche ou l’activité spatiale. Il est, par ailleurs, membre du Leonardo Space Art Working Group (Usa), du Conseil scientifique du Leonardo/Olats Space and the Arts Project (Fr), du Zero-Gravity Art Consortium (US).
http://www.jeanlucsoret.fr/

Critique d’art et commissaire d’exposition, Dominique Moulon a étudié les arts visuels à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Art (ENSA) de Bourges et est titulaire du Diplôme d’Etudes Approfondies en esthétique, sciences et technologies des arts de l’Université Paris 8. Il est membre de l’Observatoire des Mondes Numériques en Sciences Humaines (OMNSH), de l’Association International des Critiques d’Art (AICA) et du Prix Opline pour l’art contemporain en ligne. Fondateur du site MediaArtDesign.net et initiateur du MoocDigitalMedia.paris, il écrit des articles pour Art Press, Digital MCD, The Seen, Neural et est aussi le Directeur Artistique de la media art fair Variation (Show Off).
http://dominiquemoulon.com/

Diplômée d’un cycle de muséologie à l’Ecole du Louvre, Fanny Lambert est critique d’art, commissaire d’exposition indépendante (CEA), en charge du Pôle Art Contemporain à la galerie Gradiva, et enseignante. Spécialisée en art contemporain et photographie, elle s’intéresse particulièrement au corps dans l’image et à l’image contenue dans l’archive mais aussi aux spécificités de monstration des productions dites éphémères ou performatives. Elle a collaboré à L’Oeil de la Photographie et à Beaux Arts Magazine. Elle s’attache à conduire une mise en regard de l’art contemporain et de l’image dans les pratiques actuelles. Depuis 2016, elle enseigne l’Histoire de l’art des années 1960 à nos jours à l’Université Paris 8, où elle y développe un axe dédié à la perception critique de l’image.
http://fannylambert.com/FL/FL.html

Horaires
Samedi 8 décembre
de 13h à 17h30

Adresse
Médiathèque Marguerite Duras,
115 Rue de Bagnolet, 75020 Paris

https://mediathequemargueriteduras.wordpress.com/

Métro : Gambetta ou Porte de Bagnolet
Tel : 01 55 25 49 10
E-mail : mediatheque.marguerite-duras@paris.fr