Julio - Artist run space

17 nov - 08 dec

Opening the November 17 at 18h

Victoria Ahrens / Laure Tiberghien

Victoria AHRENS Born in 1972, lived in Argentina from 1973 to 1991. Lives and works in London.
Ph.D. in photographic practices at Birkbeck College, London, MA in engraving at Camberwell College of Art. She creates photogravures and hybrid photographic sculptures with marginal spaces, where myth, history and memory intertwine.
El Lugar Perfecto (The perfect place), printed photograph, 300 cm x 350 cm, projection, fragments and collages, 200 cm x 70 cm, engravings, photo montages.

Working in the translation of analogue films in the form of hybrid digital practices, Victoria Ahrens is interested in questions related to the materiality of photographic fragments. In the project El Lugar Perfecto, these photographic pieces evoke our relationship with sublime landscapes (the Altiplano of the Andes, or the Parana River for example). We most often see these landscapes through screens. But the artist re-imagines these photographic spaces in such a way that a new narration can emerge. These photographs question the limits of digital and the loss of information that induce the entropy and pixelation of images.

www.victoriaahrens.com

-

Laure TIBERGHIEN Born in 1992.Vit in Paris and works on Ile Saint Denis.
Graduated from the Beaux-Arts de Paris.
Laure Tiberghien explores the limits of the photographic medium by questioning its two fundamental elements, light and time. It also works the moving image in correlation with the still image
Twinsgelatin silver print, frame
spheres, color prints, frame
# 14 Filters, chromogenic print
SM, set of metallized chromogenic papers

After becoming interested in photography in a fairly classical way, I was more and more intrigued by what it was specifically radical in my eyes, namely by what makes it very literally a writing of light. This reflection was accompanied by a work on what is meant by "abstraction" and "subject" in photography.
Abstraction can be conceived as the correlate of pure light, pre-existing to all representations, to all signs and to all figures. Hence, in my opinion, the importance of distinguishing the image from the subject. The evocation of a subject, familiar in photography in general, which may have corresponded to some of my early works, has given way today to the recording of light itself, and it is in this sense that I now produce images without subjects.

www.instagram.com/lauretiberghien

Schedules
from Tuesday to Saturday
of 16h to 19h

Address
JULIO - ARTIST RUN SPACE,
13 rue Juillet 75020 Paris, France

www.spaceinprogress.com/

Metro: Gambetta or Ménilmontant
E-mail: spaceprogress@gmail.com

Julio – Artist run space

17 nov - 08 dec

Vernissage le 17 Novembre à 18h

Victoria Ahrens / Laure Tiberghien

Victoria AHRENS Née en 1972, a vécu en Argentine de 1973 à 1991. Vit et travaille à Londres.
Doctorat en pratiques photographiques au Birkbeck College de Londres, Maîtrise en gravure au Camberwell College of Art. Elle crée des photogravures et des sculptures photographiques hybrides avec des espaces marginaux, où le mythe, l’histoire et la mémoire s’entremêlent.
El Lugar Perfecto (Le lieu parfait), photographie imprimée, 300 cm x 350 cm, projection, fragments et collages, 200 cm x 70 cm, gravures, photo montages.

Travaillant dans la traduction de films analogiques sous forme de pratiques numériques hybrides, Victoria Ahrens s’intéresse aux questionnements liés à la matérialité des fragments photographiques. Dans le projet El Lugar Perfecto, ces pièces photographiques évoquent notre rapport aux paysages sublimes (l’Altiplano des Andes, ou le fleuve Parana par exemple). Nous voyons le plus souvent ces paysages à travers des écrans. Mais l’artiste ré-imagine ces espaces photographiques de telle manière qu’une nouvelle narration puisse voir le jour. Ces photographies interrogent les limites du numérique et la perte d’information qu’induisent l’entropie et pixelisation des images.

www.victoriaahrens.com

Laure TIBERGHIEN Née en 1992.Vit à Paris et travaille sur l’île Saint Denis.
Diplômée des Beaux-Arts de Paris.
Laure Tiberghien explore les limites du medium photographique en questionnant ses deux éléments fondamentaux, la lumière et le temps. Elle travaille également l’image en mouvement en corrélation avec l’image fixe
Twins, épreuve gélatino-argentique, cadre
Sphères, tirages chromogènes, cadre
Filtres#14, tirage chromogène
SM, ensemble de papiers chromogènes métallisés

Après m’être intéressée à la photographie de façon assez classique, j’ai été de plus en plus intriguée par ce qu’elle avait de spécifiquement radical à mes yeux, à savoir par ce qui en fait très littéralement une écriture de la lumière. Cette réflexion s’est accompagnée d’un travail sur ce que l’on entend par « abstraction » et par « sujet » en photographie.
On peut concevoir l’abstraction comme le corrélat de la lumière pure, préexistante à toute représentation, à tout signe et à toute figure. D’où, à mes yeux, l’importance de distinguer l’image du sujet. L’évocation d’un sujet, familier dans la photographie en général qui a pu correspondre à certains de mes premiers travaux, a fait place aujourd’hui à l’enregistrement de la lumière elle-même, et c’est en ce sens que je produis désormais des images sans sujets.

www.instagram.com/lauretiberghien

Horaires
Du mardi au samedi
de 16h à 19h

Adresse
JULIO – ARTIST RUN SPACE,
13 rue Juillet 75020 Paris, France

www.spaceinprogress.com/

Métro : Gambetta ou Ménilmontant
E-mail : spaceprogress@gmail.com