AAB Gallery

08 nov - 18 nov

Opening the November 10 at 18h

Fanny Gosse / Elizaveta Konovalova / Rebecca Topakian

Fanny GOSSE Born in 1975 in Paris. Lives and works in Bagnolet.
Studied at the Beaux-Arts of Toulouse, then master of Philosophy of Art in Paris I.
Echo, Framed photographs reworked in pencil, acrylic, and ink. 40 X 60 cm (55 x 75 cm framed)

Echo is a series based on memory - or rather on the distortion, interpretation, or even the invention of a memory. Initially, I use a vernacular photo that I enlarge. Photo tracing an event, characters, a place that I have known but which may also have been just told me. I leave this photographic base to "rework" the memory. Embellish or torture, deform, recreate an environment, so that it does not disappear, but it leaves a different trace. A little like the echo that comes from far, crosses the time but sounds almost imperceptibly differently at each repetition. It is a question here of treating the non-objectivity of the transmission, thus of the history of each one.
I rework these photos in acrylic, which applied in successive layers allows transparency (so to make appear hidden things), pencil and ink.

www.facebook.com/fannygosse.art

-

Elizaveta KONOVALOVA Born in 1986 in Moscow. Lives and works in Paris and Moscow.
Graduated from the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris, currently doctoral student of the interdisciplinary research program SACRe (Science-Art-Creation-Research) led by PSL University and the School of Fine Arts in Paris.
Represented by Galerie Maubert, Paris.
San Francisco, pinhole, contact print from paper negative, 190 x 250 cm; wooden bench 50 x 60 x 190 cm; various documents.

This project deals with the connection between two cities on the opposite shores of the Pacific: Vladivostok and San Francisco. The match comes for the first time in 1959, when Nikita Khrushchev, fascinated by America after his first trip, says that Vladivostok will one day become the second San Francisco. Since then, the aspiration towards the other side haunts the imagination of the inhabitants. This fantasy fades with Soviet urbanism. However, the image of San Francisco revives and fits into the landscape of Vladivostok with the Roussky Bridge, erected in 2012, instantly recalling the famous Bay Bridge. Paradoxically, the most sought after view of the bridge opens from the half-empty parking lot.
San Francisco seeks to define the spirit of the place in this face-to-face, where the two landscapes - the near and the far - coexist and contradict each other at the same time. The central element of the installation is the shooting, carried out by a garage transformed into a pinhole camera - the "postcard" view produced by the back of the set.

www.elizavetakonovalova.com

-

Rebecca TOPAKIAN Born in 1989 in Saint Mandé. Lives and works in Paris.
Graduated from the National Photography School of Arles in 2015.
Playing on the boundaries between documentary and visual forms, his work seeks to capture the possibility of representing personal identity in its relationship to the group, community or collective history through a sensual approach.

Lady Gulizar and other love stories, 30 x 40cm and 60 x 70cm photographs (Hahnemuhle frosted paper prints on framed paper), 120x140cm (inkjet prints on semigloss paper). Obsidian stones.

In order to Lady Gulizar and Other Love StoriesRebecca Topakian's starting point is the unique story of her Armenian family, who lived in Turkey before her grandfather emigrated to France. The love of his great-grandparents - Garabed and Gulizar - forbidden by their parents, until the removal of Gulizar by Garabed, came looking for her on his horse. This almost mythological account brought her to Armenia, where she confronts a romantic and fictional vision of the motherland with a very contemporary image of Armenia. Landscapes like portraits of Armenian men speak of desire: that of a modern Gulizar who, rather than kidnapped by his lover, becomes a desperate subject in the context of a patriarchal society; but also a desire for identity, which is expressed in the search for typical and familiar traits. By borrowing from different photographic registers - snapshot, documentary, studio portrait or photography of the intimate - that she mixes in a constellar hanging with family photos that she drew on local stones picked up during her strolls, she offers an intimate and impressionistic portrait of Armenia today.

www.rebeccatopakian.fr

Schedules
From Wednesday to Sunday
of 14h to 20h

Address
AAB GALLERY,
1, Francis Picabia Street, 75020 Paris

ateliers-artistes-belleville.fr

Metro: Crowns
Tel: 01 73 74 27 67
E-mail: aabprojets@gmail.com

Galerie AAB

08 nov - 18 nov

Vernissage le 10 Novembre à 18h

Fanny Gosse / Elizaveta Konovalova / Rebecca Topakian

Fanny GOSSE Née en 1975 à Paris. Vit et travaille à Bagnolet.
A étudié aux Beaux-arts de Toulouse, puis maitrise de philosophie de l’art à Paris I.
Écho, Photographies encadrées retravaillées au crayon, à l’acrylique, et à l’encre. 40 x 60 cm (55 x 75 cm encadrées)

Écho est une série basée sur le souvenir – ou plutôt sur la déformation, l’interprétation, voire même l’invention d’un souvenir. Au départ, j’utilise une photo vernaculaire que j’agrandis. Photo retraçant un événement, des personnages, un lieu que j’ai connus mais qui peuvent également m’avoir simplement été contés. Je pars de cette base photographique pour « retravailler » le souvenir. L’embellir ou le torturer, le déformer, lui recréer un environnement, afin non pas qu’il disparaisse, mais qu’il laisse une trace différente. Un peu à la manière de l’écho qui vient de loin, traverse le temps mais sonne presque imperceptiblement différemment à chaque répétition. Il s’agit ici de traiter la non-objectivité de la transmission, donc de l’histoire de chacun.
Je retravaille ces photos à l’acrylique qui, appliquée par couches successives permet une transparence (donc de faire apparaitre les choses cachées), au crayon et à l’encre de chine.

www.facebook.com/fannygosse.art

Elizaveta KONOVALOVA Née en 1986 à Moscou. Vit et travaille à Paris et Moscou.
Diplômée de l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris, actuellement doctorante du programme de recherche interdisciplinaire SACRe (Science-Art-Création-Recherche) piloté par l’université PSL et l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris.
Représentée par la Galerie Maubert, Paris.
San Francisco, sténopé, tirage contact depuis le négatif papier, 190 x 250 cm; banc en bois 50 x 60 x 190 cm; documents divers. 

Ce projet traite de la connexion entre deux villes situées sur les rives opposées du Pacifique : Vladivostok et San Francisco. Le jumelage survient pour la première fois en 1959, lorsque Nikita Khrouchtchev, fasciné par l’Amérique après son premier voyage, déclare que Vladivostok deviendra un jour le deuxième San Francisco. Depuis, l’aspiration vers l’autre rive hante l’imaginaire des habitants. Ce fantasme s’estompe avec l’urbanisme soviétique. Cependant, l’image de San-Francisco revit et s’inscrit dans le paysage de Vladivostok avec le pont Roussky, érigé en 2012, rappelant instantanément le célèbre Bay Bridge. Paradoxalement, la vue la plus recherchée du pont s’ouvre depuis le parking à moitié en friche.
San Francisco cherche à définir l’esprit du lieu dans ce face à face, où les deux paysages – le proche et le lointain – coexistent et se contredisent en même temps. L’élément central de l’installation est la prise de vue, réalisée par un garage transformé en sténopé – la vue « carte postale » produite par l’envers du décor.

www.elizavetakonovalova.com

Rebecca TOPAKIAN Née en 1989 à Saint Mandé. Vit et travaille à Paris.
Diplômée de l’école nationale supérieure de photographie d’Arles en 2015.
Jouant des limites entre des formes documentaires et plastiques, son travail cherche à saisir la possibilité de représentation de l’identité personnelle dans sa relation au groupe, à la communauté ou à l’histoire collective à travers une approche sensuelle.

Dame Gulizar and other love stories, photographies 30 x 40cm et 60 x 70cm (tirages pigmentaires sur papier Hahnemuhle encadrés), 120x140cm (tirages jet d’encre sur papier semigloss). Pierres obsidiennes.

Pour Dame Gulizar and Other Love Stories, Rebecca Topakian prend pour point de départ l’unique histoire transmise de sa famille arménienne, qui vivait en Turquie avant que son grand-père émigre en France. L’amour de ses arrières-grands-parents – Garabed et Gulizar – interdit par leurs parents, jusque l’enlèvement de Gulizar par Garabed, venu la chercher sur son cheval. Ce récit presque mythologique l’a amenée en Arménie, où elle confronte une vision romantique et fictionnelle de la mère patrie à une imagerie très contemporaine de l’Arménie. Les paysages comme les portraits d’hommes arméniens parlent de désir : celui d’une Gulizar moderne qui, plutôt que kidnappée par son amant, devient sujet désirant dans le contexte d’une société patriarcale ; mais aussi un désir d’identité, qui s’exprime dans la recherche de traits typiques et familiers. En empruntant à différents registres photographiques – snapshot, documentaire, portrait studio ou photographie de l’intime – qu’elle mêle dans un accrochage constellaire à des photos de famille qu’elle a tirées sur des pierres locales ramassées lors de ses déambulations, elle offre un portrait intime et impressionniste de l’Arménie d’aujourd’hui.

www.rebeccatopakian.fr

 

Horaires
Du mercredi au dimanche
de 14h à 20h

Adresse
GALERIE AAB,
1, rue Francis Picabia, 75020 Paris

ateliers-artistes-belleville.fr

Métro : Couronnes
Tel : 01 73 74 27 67
E-mail : aabprojets@gmail.com