Julio - Artist run space

14 nov - 05 dec

Opening on November 14 from 17 p.m. to 21 p.m.

Camille Benarab-Lopez / Mathieu Zurcher

Camille BENARAB-LOPEZ
Born in 1989 in Paris.
Graduated from the National School of Decorative Arts, in Printed Image, and Beaux-Arts in Paris.

This series consists of images collected from my collection of photographic visuals. They come from various sources and have different statuses: photocopies in libraries, Internet searches, screenshots ... The figures which appear there are recurrent, and reused or combined in several forms: they are formal and semantic obsessions that haunt without my being able to overcome it. There are often doors, windows, halos, horizon lines.
By various recording and printing processes which take them out of their digital latency, these visuals are deposited on multiple media. As the images materialize, they become residues where only clues remain. Faced with the concern that their dissemination causes, I try to contain them and assemble them in a frame. The surfaces that host these image flows thus allow them to be frozen and, through a game of correspondence or dissonance, to establish relationships and dialogues within the corpora that occupy me. In a double movement of demonstration and concealment, it is about reaching the breaking point of the legibility of the image, in order to create a desire and a frustration of the gaze.

www.camillebenarablopez.fr

Mathieu ZURCHER
Born in 1987 in Martigues.
Lives and works in Marseille.
Graduated from ENSBA in Paris.

The “Excavation Totems” are concrete sculptures that host images previously crumpled and folded by the artist. Once molded, these columns are excavated in the workshop using various tools, and reveal a shapeable photographic image, imprisoned in the material. Mathieu Zurcher establishes a dialogue made up of tensions and struggles between photography and sculpture, in an architectural gesture using the structure of the pylon and the column as a support for images.

mathieuzurcher.format.com

Schedules
From Wednesday to Sunday 
of 16h to 19h

Address
JULIO - ARTIST RUN SPACE,
13 rue Juillet 75020 Paris, France

www.spaceinprogress.com/

Metro: Gambetta or Ménilmontant
E-mail: spaceprogress@gmail.com

Julio – Artist run space

14 nov - 05 dec

Vernissage le 14 Novembre de 17h à 21h

Camille Benarab-Lopez / Mathieu Zurcher

Camille BENARAB-LOPEZ
Née en 1989 à Paris.
Diplômée de l’École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs, en Image imprimée, et des Beaux-Arts de Paris.

Cette série se compose d’images récoltées dans ma collection de visuels photographiques. Elles proviennent de source diverses et ont différents statuts : photocopies en bibliothèque, recherches Internet, captures d’écran… Les figures qui y apparaissent sont récurrentes, et réemployées ou combinées sous plusieurs formes : il s’agit d’obsessions formelles et sémantiques qui me hantent sans que je ne puisse en venir à bout. On y retrouve souvent des portes, des fenêtres, des halos, des lignes d’horizon.
Par différents procédés d’enregistrement et d’impression qui les sortent de leur latence numérique, ces visuels se déposent sur de multiples supports. Au fur et à mesure que les images s’incarnent matériellement, elles deviennent des résidus où ne subsistent que des indices. Face à l’inquiétude que provoque leur dissémination, je tente de les contenir et de les assembler dans un cadre. Les surfaces qui accueillent ces flux d’images permettent ainsi de les figer et, par un jeu de correspondance ou de dissonance, d’établir des relations et des dialogues au sein des corpus qui m’occupent. Dans un double mouvement de monstration et de dissimulation, il s’agit d’atteindre le point de rupture de la lisibilité de l’image, afin de créer un désir et une frustration du regard.

www.camillebenarablopez.fr

Mathieu ZURCHER
Né en 1987 à Martigues.
Vit et travaille à Marseille.
Diplômé de l’ENSBA de Paris.

Les « Totems de fouille » sont des sculptures en béton accueillant en leur sein des images préalablement froissées et pliées par l’artiste. Une fois moulées, ces colonnes sont fouillées à l’atelier à l’aide de différents outils, et révèlent une image photographique façonnable, emprisonnée dans la matière. Mathieu Zurcher établit un dialogue fait de tensions et de luttes entre photographie et sculpture, dans un geste architectural reprenant la structure du pylône et de la colonne comme support d’images.

mathieuzurcher.format.com

Horaires
Du mercredi au dimanche 
de 16h à 19h

Adresse
JULIO – ARTIST RUN SPACE,
13 rue Juillet 75020 Paris, France

www.spaceinprogress.com/

Métro : Gambetta ou Ménilmontant
E-mail : spaceprogress@gmail.com