AAB Gallery

19 nov - 29 nov

Opening on November 20 from 17 p.m. to 21 p.m.

Damien Caccia / Lucas Leffler

Damien CACCIA
Born in 1989 in Les Lilas. Lives and works in Les Lilas.
Nantes Fine Arts graduate.

“Tears” is a series of miniature images taken with a cell phone between 2015 and 2019, transferred from photographic paper onto drops of dried glue. This thin film of glue thus resembles cameos, and acts as a lens, from an inverted perspective. The viewer comes as close as possible to the image in order to distinguish its content, and compensates for its weak definition by a greater concentration of the gaze. This commitment then transforms our perception which tears away from the continuous flow of images flooding our daily lives. Put in motion the contemporary gaze "dumbfounded", such is the meaning of this project whose title refers as much to the support (the drops of glue) as to the physiology of the eye which can both see and be moved. .

damiencaccia.com

Lucas LEFFLER

Born in 1993 in Virton. Lives and works in Brussels.
Graduated from an artistic master's degree at KASK in Ghent.
Represented by the Pinguin Space gallery (Brussels) and Intervalle (Paris).

“Zilverbeek” is a long-term project started in 2017. It documents and interprets the story of a stream located in Antwerp, in which silver metal could be recovered from its sludge. Indeed, since the 1920s, the Belgian factory Gevaert has run tons of silver in this stream, its sludge then colored black due to the presence of silver, which earned it the name of Zwarte. gracht (the black channel) or Zilverbeek (the silver stream). In 1927, a supplier to Gevaert invented a system to collect money for his own account.
Fascinated by this story, I gathered historical documents and photographed the factory as well as the stream in present times. In my turn, by using the silver found in this sludge, I developed a technique of silver photo printing. This project mixes documentary investigation and poetic reinterpretation through an experimental photographic practice.

lucasleffler.com

Schedules
From Wednesday to Sunday

of 14h to 20h

Address
AAB GALLERY,
1, Francis Picabia Street, 75020 Paris

ateliers-artistes-belleville.fr

Metro: Crowns
Phone: 01 73 74 27 67
E-mail: aabprojets@gmail.com

Galerie AAB

19 nov - 29 nov

Vernissage le 20 Novembre de 17h à 21h

Damien Caccia / Lucas Leffler

Damien CACCIA
Né en 1989 aux Lilas. Vit et travaille aux Lilas.
Diplômé des Beaux-Arts de Nantes.

« Larmes » est une série d’images miniatures réalisées avec un téléphone portable entre 2015 et 2019, transférées du papier photographique sur des gouttes de colle séchée. Cette fine pellicule de colle s’apparente ainsi à des camées, et fait office de lentille, suivant une perspective inversée. Le spectateur se rapproche au plus près de l’image afin d’en distinguer le contenu, et compense sa faible définition par une plus grande concentration du regard. Cet engagement transforme alors notre perception qui s’arrache au flux continu d’images inondant notre quotidien. Remettre en mouvement le regard contemporain « médusé », tel est bien le sens de ce projet dont le titre renvoie autant au support (les gouttes de colle) qu’à la physiologie de l’œil qui peut à la fois voir et s’émouvoir.

damiencaccia.com

Lucas  LEFFLER

Né en 1993 à Virton. Vit et travaille à Bruxelles.
Diplômé d’un Master artistique à la KASK de Gand.
Représenté par la galerie Pinguin Space (Bruxelles) et Intervalle (Paris).

« Zilverbeek » est un projet au long cours entamé en 2017. Il documente et interprète l’histoire d’un ruisseau situé à Anvers, dans lequel on pouvait récupérer du métal argentique à partir de ses boues. En effet, depuis les années 1920, l’usine belge Gevaert a écoulé des tonnes d’argent dans ce ruisseau, ses boues s’étant alors colorées en noir à cause de la présence d’argent, ce qui lui valut le nom de Zwarte gracht (la rigole noire) ou Zilverbeek (le ruisseau d’argent). En 1927, un fournisseur de Gevaert inventa un système pour récupérer l’argent à son propre compte.
Fasciné par cette histoire, j’ai rassemblé des documents historiques et photographié l’usine ainsi que le ruisseau à l’époque actuelle. A mon tour, en en utilisant de l’argent retrouvé dans ces boues, j’ai développé une technique d’impression photo argentique. Ce projet mélange enquête documentaire et réinterprétation poétique par le biais d’une pratique photographique expérimentale.

lucasleffler.com

Horaires
Du mercredi au dimanche

de 14h à 20h

Adresse
GALERIE AAB,
1, rue Francis Picabia, 75020 Paris

ateliers-artistes-belleville.fr

Métro : Couronnes
Tel : 01 73 74 27 67
E-mail : aabprojets@gmail.com