Eko Sato Gallery

4 nov - 18 nov

Opening on November 4 from 17 p.m. to 21 p.m.

Fred Atlan / Doriane Souilhol / Andréa Vamos

Fred atlan
Born in 1966 in Toulon.
Lives and works in Paris.
Graduated from a Master 2 in Art and Aesthetics at the University of Paris 8.

My photographic field feeds on material gleaned from my daily life, which I revive. These remains (old breads, crumpled papers, bricks and wrappers) are found scrambled, chopped, stacked between them… And frozen by the photograph to form “precipitates” of matter, mood or travel.
These aggregates resemble the remains of an original world, and represent a fictional odyssey in the archaic. From the rock posed to the floating object, from the fall to the shelter, from day to night, these images are the symbols of a fragile and distressing mythology. Thus, these landscapes with brutal resonances question the exhaustion of our eyes, too accustomed to denying the obsolescence and the strangeness of things.

fredatlan.fr

Doriane SOUILHOL
Born in 1981 in Nîmes.
Lives and works in Marseille.
Graduated from the Duperré School of Applied Arts in Paris.

My research led me to study the beginnings of telecommunications and the first sound recordings of voices on discs. Some of them were made of glass, the sound then being "drawn" using a technique combining sound and light, which is similar to the photographic process. I thus propose a printing work on glass and on mirrors through pieces ultra sensitive to luminosity.
The title of this series, On the position of nodes in the blades which vibrate transversely, refers to the thesis of the physicist Jules Lissajous (1850), dedicated to acoustic vibrations by reflection of light signals on a mirror previously attached to the vibrating object. . I explore the evanescent and intangible materiality of wave, sound and light… And their possible back and forth, when sound is visible and light is heard.

mydoriane.com

Andrea VAMOS

Born in 1981 in France.
Lives and works in Paris.
Graduated from ENSBA in Paris.

The in situ installation “After works” consists of 36 prints 36x24cm on celluloid, hung by back suspension systems (feet and bars used in photo studio). These images come from ten kilometers of veiled virgin film, which I had displayed in the gardens of the Maison Cocteau during a residency, and on which nature has left its traces.
Like the photographer who, in his film laboratory, unrolls his films to dry them and discovers his images, I took up the verticality of this intimate gesture in my installation. This arrangement is also inspired by forests, and their trees stretched towards the sky. “After works” indeed invites the public to immerse themselves and circulate in this multitude of images, grouped by families, according to the shapes drawn by the alteration of time on the sensitive film.

www.andreavamos.com

 

Schedules
Wednesday to Saturday
from 14h00 to 19h00 and on appointment
+
Sunday November 15 for the weekend route

Address
EKO SATO GALLERY,
57 rue des Cascades, 75020 Paris, La France

www.ekosato.com

Metro: Pyrenees
Tel: 06 24 92 13 23

Galerie Eko Sato

4 nov - 18 nov

Vernissage le 4 Novembre de 17h à 21h

Fred Atlan / Doriane Souilhol / Andréa Vamos

Fred ATLAN
Né en 1966 à Toulon.
Vit et travaille à Paris.
Diplômé d’un Master 2 d’Art et d’Esthétique à l’Université Paris 8.

Mon champ photographique se nourrit de matière glanée dans mon quotidien, que je réanime. Ces restes (vieux pains, papiers froissés, briques et emballages) se trouvent brouillés, hachés, empilés entre eux… Et figés par la photographie pour former des « précipités » de matière, d’humeur ou de voyage.
Ces agrégats ressemblent aux reliquats d’un monde originel, et figurent une odyssée fictionnelle dans l’archaïque. Du rocher posé à l’objet flottant, de la chute à l’abri, du jour à la nuit, ces images sont les symboles d’une mythologie fragile et angoissante. Ainsi, ces paysages aux résonances brutales interrogent l’épuisement de nos regards, trop habitués à nier l’obsolescence et l’étrangeté des choses.

fredatlan.fr

Doriane SOUILHOL
Née en 1981 à Nîmes.
Vit et travaille à Marseille.
Diplômée de l’Ecole d’arts appliqués Duperré de Paris.

Mes recherches m’ont porté à étudier les prémices des télécommunications et les premiers enregistrements sonores de voix sur disques. Certains d’entre eux étaient en verre, le son étant alors « dessiné » grâce à une technique mêlant le son et la lumière, qui s’apparente au procédé photographique. Je propose ainsi un travail d’impression sur verre et sur miroir à travers des pièces ultra sensibles à la luminosité.
Le titre de cette série, Sur la position des nœuds dans les lames qui vibrent transversalement, renvoie à la thèse du physicien Jules Lissajous (1850), dédiée aux vibrations acoustiques par réflexion de signaux lumineux sur un miroir préalablement fixé à l’objet qui vibre. J’explore la matérialité évanescente et impalpable de l’onde, du son et de la lumière… Et leur possible va-et-vient, quand le son se donne à voir et la lumière se fait entendre.

mydoriane.com

Andréa VAMOS

Née en 1981 en France.
Vit et travaille à Paris.
Diplômée de l’ENSBA de Paris.

L’installation in situ « After works » se compose de 36 tirages 36x24cm sur celluloïd, accrochés par des systèmes de suspension de fond (pieds et barres utilisés en studio photo). Ces images proviennent d’une dizaine de kilomètres de pellicules vierges voilées, que j’avais déployées dans les jardins de la Maison Cocteau lors d’une résidence, et sur lesquelles la nature a déposé ses traces.
À la manière du photographe qui, dans son laboratoire argentique, déroule ses films pour les sécher et découvre ses images, j’ai repris la verticalité de ce geste intime dans mon installation. Cet agencement s’inspire également des forêts, et de leurs arbres tendus vers le ciel. « After works » invite en effet le public à s’immerger et à circuler dans cette multitude d’images, regroupées par familles, selon les formes dessinées par l’altération du temps sur la pellicule sensible.

www.andreavamos.com

 

Horaires
Du mercredi au samedi
de 14h00 à 19h00 et sur rdv
+
Dimanche 15 novembre pour le parcours week-end

Adresse
GALERIE EKO SATO,
57 rue des Cascades, 75020 Paris, France

www.ekosato.com

Métro : Pyrénées
Tel : 06 24 92 13 23