Flagship show

From November 13 to 22, 2020: Phare exhibition: Atelier Basfroi

The flagship exhibition, curated by the organizers of the Biennale, brings together twelve French and international artists at Atelier Basfroi, around the themes of town planning, the control society and surveillance tools.

Photographers or visual artists, the artists presented highlight distorted, deconstructed, reconstructed or falsified images, and are carriers of innovative photographic ideas both on the subjects addressed and the methods used.

BASFROI WORKSHOP

13 nov - 22 nov

Opening on November 13 from 17 p.m. to 21 p.m.

Xavier Bauer / Grégory Chatonsky / Antje Feger & Benjamin Stumpf / Clemens Gritl / Beate Gütschow / Claudia Larcher / Maxime Matthys / Achim Mohné / Richard Mosse / Hito Steyerl / Thierry Urbain / Emmanuel Van Der Auwera.

Opening the 13 November at 17h ON RESERVATION ONLY. 
Please send an email with first and last name to: opening@bit20.paris

Schedules
From Tuesday to Sunday 

of 13h to 20h

Address
BASFROI WORKSHOP

23, rue Basfroi, 75011 Paris

Metro: Voltaire / Charonne

For its second edition, the flagship exhibition of the Biennale de l'Image Tangible invites twelve French and international artists to Atelier Basfroi, from November 13 to 22, 2020, around the themes of town planning, the control society and monitoring tools.

Digital prints (Richard Mosse, Clemens Gritl, Maxime Matthys) or silver prints (Thierry Urbain), recomposed images (Beate Gütschow, Claudia Larcher) and videos (Hito Steyerl), sculptures (Xavier Bauer, Achim Mohné) or multimedia installations (Grégory Chatonsky, Emmanuel Van Der Auwera, Antje Feger & Benjamin Stumpf), the works of artists invited by the Tangible Image Biennale place us at the heart of the network of cyber-connected cities, architectural utopias, and the monitoring tools that scrutinize them with their mechanical eye.

They are more particularly interested in the functioning and the scope of these registration systems which now dominate and govern our societies, referred to as “control societies”. They thus open up a reflection on the emergence, place and socio-political implications of these new technologies in the public space, for 50% urban humanity - and which will be 70% by 2050. Each proposal considers therefore critically the tangible effects and the future of these digital technologies, in order to understand their impact on the organization of our environment ... And to see how our perception of the world, of ourselves, as well as our behavior, is find it affected.

So how do the new tools for capturing reality, which include photography and its digital ersatz, end up shaping urban space? How do they contribute to producing a world, rather than just recording it? And by what means do they manage to format our bodies, our habits and our minds, through the uses we make of them on a daily basis?

François Salmeron

Xavier Bauer

Born in 1977 in Geneva. Lives and works between Geneva and Berlin.

Oxymoron

This gray ash cube is the result of a patient work during which the artist sieves and compresses residues of burnt photographs. The sculpture, seemingly massive and solid, is in fact extremely fragile and volatile - and therefore assumes an oxymoron. It disintegrates according to the air currents and the movements of the spectators around it. The gray monochrome is also presented as a stele synthesizing the motley flow of images which vainly assail our daily glances, as if too many images ended up killing the image. And reminds us, like a memento mori, that everything turns to dust ...

Gregory Chatonsky

Born in 1971 in Paris. Lives and works in Paris and Montreal.

Recursive neural networks, usually referred to as AI, allow media to mutate. From huge databases accumulated on the Web, it is possible to produce resembling images: we provide a neural network with thousands of images of birds and new images appear that we recognize as birds even if these do not exist.

These are media media that constitute a real break in the history of the production of realism. MUE invites us to the permanent metamorphosis of images taken in the permanent flux of mutation. An alternate world becomes visible that looks like the one we know but differs from it, like the possibility of an unexplored branch. These are realistic images, but they are no longer real. They are no longer based on the capture of light (photorealism) but on the synthesis of memories captured in the nets of massive data network.

What happens to the image when it is taken in an infinite series? What is its form when it is only the form of its change? What era of realism do we enter when we recognize as realistic images that do not come from the capture of reality but from the hypermnesia of the network?

 

Antje Feger & Benjamin Stumpf

Born in 1977 in Lüneburg. Born in 1976 in Solingen (Germany). Live and work in Hamburg.

This installation consists of two parts: a print cut by a document shredder and a radio broadcasting a sound collage. The images come from the archives of the Ministry of National Security of the Democratic Republic of Germany, whose intelligence services used these visuals to train their agents to encrypt messages in a coded sign system.

The sound collage is made up of archives of shortwave radio stations, used to carry military messages and intelligence around the world. A transmitter hidden in the exhibition space, which functions as a mini radio station, sends the sound signal to all the VHF receivers in the vicinity.

Antje Feger and Benjamin Stumpf remind us of what surveillance and intelligence techniques were like during the Cold War, before the advent of digital technology.

Clemens Gritl

Born in Straubing (Germany). Lives and works in Berlin

Clemens Gritl designs artificial 3D computer models inspired by 1960th century urban utopias. These cold black and white architectures, with brutalist concrete edges, are surrounded by an endless motorway network, and bathe in a dark atmosphere saturated with asphalt. They therefore refer to the revolutionary social visions of the XNUMXs, while painting a disturbing dystopian picture of their future. Their homogeneous structures, with repetitive shapes and gigantic dimensions, build cities that are at once aggressive, nightmarish… and fascinating. But what impact can they have on humanity and their inhabitants? Do they not above all denote a desire to organize society and space, to the point of oppressing them? Indeed, we can fear that such a city will see itself destined to develop an ultra-functional society ... Or, on the contrary, to tip our lives into a threatening and alienating social dysfunction.

Beate Gütschow

Born in 1970 in Mainz. Lives and works in Cologne and Berlin.
Represented by Galerie Barbara Gross (Berlin), Produzentengalerie (Hamburg), and Sonnabend Gallery (New York).

Hortus Conclusus offers a distant point of view on urban parks. Grass trampled by passers-by or burnt by the sun, weeds, tags and shards of glass are all banal details, finely chiseled by the eye overhanging the camera. But beyond the precision of the photographic rendering, this series reorganizes the perspective according to which the public space is constructed.
Beate Gütschow indeed abandons the conventional photographic perspective, and refers to the pictorial representation of gardens in the art of the Middle Ages and the beginning of the Renaissance. The vanishing points are missing, the lines do not converge and remain parallel, the images seem to open up like a book, and all the objects follow the same value as in medieval illuminations.
Each visual consists of 150 photos assembled digitally by an algorithm, following various perspectives, in the form of 3D photogrammetric models. This technique of photogrammetry, used for topographical surveys in archeology, architecture or public works, makes it possible to determine the shape, dimensions and position of an object in space from photos. It reminds us that one of the functions of photography is to map, measure and organize reality as well as the objects that compose it. The artist then readjusts the nuances of colors, the contrasts and the luminosity of the recorded elements to recreate a continuity in these strangely closed images, and to hide the ruptures dotting such a visual puzzle.

Claudia Larcher

Born in 1979 in Bregenz (Austria). Lives and works in Vienna.
Represented by the 22,48 m2 gallery (Paris).

Claudia Larcher is a visual artist specializing in video animation, collage, photography and installation. Series Urban Landscapes uses architectural magazines or periodicals, the pages of which are worked with a scalpel. The blocks of text are removed, and only elements of printed buildings remain. The different layers therefore form a relief: at the opening of each double page, a three-dimensional architectural landscape is revealed.

The video Ornament is a crime, behind its squeaky title which reopens the debate on the usefulness or not of art in our everyday life, presents a scenario of this same type of work compiling different kinds of architectural visuals.

The series Man refers to the work of designer Mies Van der Rohe, former director of the Bauhaus, through photographic views of buildings, details of interior volumes, and façade grid structures, which are superimposed and intertwined thanks to a assembly game. These delicate fragments appear to have been removed from their context with the original scalpel in order to be repackaged. They tell the story of the modernist dream of an architecture made of efficiency, transparency and elegance.

Maxime Matthys

Born in 1995 in Brussels. Lives and works in Paris and Rennes.
Graduated from the EMI-CFD School of Journalism in Paris.

"2091 - The Ministry of Privacy" reveals facial recognition mechanisms used by the Chinese government to monitor and oppress ethnic minorities, including Uighur and Kazakh, in the Xinjiang region. I produced this series in collaboration with William Attache, an artificial intelligence engineer, to create facial recognition software similar to those used by the Chinese government. Then I went to Kashgar, one of the last strongholds of Uighur and Kazakh culture, and one of the most closely guarded towns in the territory, to photograph the daily life of these populations.

Despite government censorship, I was able to send my photographs to facial recognition programs previously developed on my computer. The software then proceeded to recognize the inhabitants appearing in the photos, and exported their biometric information on their face. Depending on the technology, some are displayed as red dots (called Landmarks) others using the Delaunay diagram - an alternative used to map such information. My work thus underlines the intrusive nature of these technologies, until then invisible, and the threat they represent for the inhabitants.

Achim Mohné

Born in 1964 in Aix-la-Chapelle. Lives and works in Cologne and Zurich.
Represented by the Judith Andreae gallery (Bonn).

Achim Mohné relies on new digital media and new technologies to try to understand how our perception and our awareness of physical and social space are rethinking. Digital immateriality and virtual corporeality constitute the two research subjects of the series 3D-Google-Earth-Model, started in 2018. These 3D works deal with the relationship between real urban space and its virtual representations, called “avatars”. These retain an illustrative and referential character while switching to a strange, even abstract, digital aesthetic resulting from the recording and translation of the Earth's surface by satellites and drones.

This series of printed sculptures explore methods of 3D display of virtual globes (software that models the Earth in 3D, the first of its kind was Google Earth), which "aesthetically prepare users for future media, such as Virtual Reality or Artificial Reality or Mixed Realities ”, according to art historian Pamela C. Scorzin.

Richard mosse

Born in 1980 in Kilkenny (Ireland). Lives and works in New York.
Represented by the Carlier Gebauer gallery (Berlin, Madrid).

The series Infra is marked by Mosse's use of Kodak Aerochrome, a discontinued infrared reconnaissance film. The film records chlorophyll in living vegetation. The result is the lush Congolese rainforest rendered in a beautifully surreal landscape of pinks and reds. Mosse said in an interview with British Journal of Photography : “I wanted to export this technology to a more difficult situation, to end the generic conventions of calcified mass media narratives, and to question how we are allowed to represent this forgotten conflict. I wanted to confront this military reconnaissance technology, to use it reflexively to question the modes of construction of war photography. "

Heat Maps, 2017.
Thermal camera in refugee camps (Greece, Germany, Bulgaria, Germany)

This series of photos traces the lives of migrants in different camps around the world. To report on their living conditions, the photographer armed himself with a military weapon, a thermal camera capable of filming several kilometers away.

“This very powerful and in my opinion very disturbing camera technology, I see it as an allegory of the military-humanitarian complex which characterizes the only response of the European Union to the influx of migrants, the 'refugee crisis' as one called her. This is the only solution we have apparently found to welcome asylum seekers, refugees who land on our shores. "(Richard Mosse, interview in France Culture).

Steyerl Milestone

Born in 1966 in Munich. Lives and works in Berlin.
Represented by the Esther Schipper gallery (Berlin).

Through this short video loop, Hito Steyerl hits a black LCD screen with a wood chisel and cuts through its surface, under the effect of shock, a network of multicolored cracks. The word STRIKE, which frames this minimal performance and means "to strike something" or "to go on strike", therefore implies an act of collision, disturbance, protest or resistance. It can be read either as an imperative that encourages us to join the artist in his action. It is therefore akin to a protest movement against the power of screens. Or like an iconoclastic gesture revealing the mode of production, appearance and diffusion of images. By breaking this screen, Steyerl therefore updates the material and technological infrastructures, as well as their political and ideological implications, which underlie all representational content ... And underlines that the screen does indeed determine what remains visible or invisible to society, to our minds and to our eyes.

Thierry urban

Born in 1960 in France.

Hypogeum

These architectures have always seemed to me to be hieratic and timeless places open to fiction and the human sciences in which geography and history could be presented as utopias. Their archetypal forms allow us to reconstruct time and space according to our own desire and to superimpose on the photographic reality the equivalence of an interior landscape.

Babylon

The last open-air excavations on the archaeological site of Babylon would have shown that the library of the mythical city would in no way be a model of rational classification of catalogs and written tablets of a vanished civilization. The architecture of the place actually draws an initiatory journey through the mazes of rooms and stairs. The library thus obeys a ritual (and not memorial) function: that of a spiritual journey where the reader is above all a believer who prays aloud and follows a procession.

Emmanuel Van Der Auwera

Born in 1982. Lives and works in Brussels.
Represented by the Harlan Levey Project gallery (Brussels).

VideoSculpture XXI (Vegas)

Using the video screen as a sculptural material, Emmanuel Van Der Auwera cuts out the filters that make up each LCD screen and places them on a tripod. In doing so, the images become visible in the form of fragments, depending on the viewer's position, and are discovered from several points of view. Captured by thermographic cameras used in the army or in surveillance devices, this sequence paints a fantastical portrait of the “Strip” of Las Vegas. Passers-by on the avenue clad with signs appear as unwilling filmed subjects, seen through the eye of a sniper.

Schedules
From Tuesday to Sunday
of 13h to 20h

Address
BASFROI WORKSHOP,
23, rue Basfroi, 75011 Paris

Metro: Voltaire or Charonne

Exposition phare

Du 13 au 22 novembre 2020 : Exposition Phare : Atelier Basfroi

L’exposition phare, curatée par les organisateurs de la Biennale, réunit douze artistes français et internationaux à l’Atelier Basfroi, autour des thèmes de l’urbanisme, de la société de contrôle et des outils de surveillance.

Photographes ou plasticiens, les artistes présentés mettent en exergue des images détournées, déconstruites, reconstruites ou falsifiées, et sont porteurs d’idées photographiques innovantes tant sur les sujets abordés que les méthodes employées.

ATELIER BASFROI

13 nov - 22 nov

Vernissage le 13 Novembre de 17h à 21h

Xavier Bauer / Grégory Chatonsky / Antje Feger & Benjamin Stumpf / Clemens Gritl /  Beate Gütschow / Claudia Larcher / Maxime Matthys / Achim Mohné / Richard Mosse / Hito Steyerl / Thierry Urbain / Emmanuel Van Der Auwera.

Vernissage le 13 Novembre à 17h SUR RESERVATION UNIQUEMENT. 
Merci d’envoyer un email avec nom et prénom à : opening@bit20.paris

Horaires
Du mardi au dimanche 

de 13h à 20h

Adresse
ATELIER BASFROI

23, rue Basfroi, 75011 Paris

Métro : Voltaire / Charonne

Pour sa deuxième édition, l’exposition phare de la Biennale de l’Image Tangible invite douze artistes français et internationaux à l’Atelier Basfroi, du 13 au 22 novembre 2020, autour des thèmes de l’urbanisme, de la société de contrôle et des outils de surveillance.

Tirages numériques (Richard Mosse, Clemens Gritl, Maxime Matthys) ou argentiques (Thierry Urbain), images recomposées (Beate Gütschow, Claudia Larcher) et vidéos (Hito Steyerl), sculptures (Xavier Bauer, Achim Mohné) ou installations multimédias (Grégory Chatonsky, Emmanuel Van Der Auwera, Antje Feger & Benjamin Stumpf), les œuvres des artistes invités par la Biennale de l’Image Tangible nous situent au cœur du réseau des villes cyber-connectées, d’utopies architecturales, et des outils de surveillance qui les scrutent de leur œil mécanique.

Elles s’intéressent plus particulièrement au fonctionnement et à la portée de ces dispositifs d’enregistrement qui surplombent et régissent désormais nos sociétés, désignées sous les termes de « sociétés de contrôle ». Elles ouvrent ainsi une réflexion sur l’émergence, la place et les implications sociopolitiques de ces nouvelles technologies dans l’espace public, pour une humanité urbaine à 50% – et qui le sera à 70% à l’horizon 2050. Chaque proposition considère donc de manière critique les effets tangibles et le devenir de ces technologies digitales, afin de saisir leur impact sur l’organisation de notre environnement… Et de voir en quoi notre perception du monde, de nous-mêmes, ainsi que notre comportement, s’en trouvent affectés.

Ainsi, comment les nouveaux outils de captation du réel, dont font partie la photographie et ses ersatz numériques, finissent-ils par modeler l’espace urbain ? En quoi contribuent-ils à produire un monde, plutôt que de seulement l’enregistrer ? Et par quels biais parviennent-ils à formater nos corps, nos habitudes et nos esprits, à travers les usages que nous en faisons au quotidien ?

François Salmeron

Xavier Bauer

Né en 1977 à Genève. Vit et travaille entre Genève et Berlin.

Oxymoron

Ce cube de cendres grises est issu d’un patient travail au cours duquel l’artiste tamise et compresse des résidus de photographies brûlées. La sculpture, d’apparence massive et solide, s’avère en fait extrêmement fragile et volatile – et suppose donc un oxymore. Elle se désagrège en fonction des courants d’air et des déplacements des spectateurs autour d’elle. Le monochrome gris se présente également telle une stèle synthétisant le flot bariolé d’images qui assaillent vainement nos regards au quotidien, comme si trop d’images finissaient par tuer l’image. Et nous rappelle, à l’instar d’un memento mori, que tout retourne à la poussière…

Grégory Chatonsky

Né en 1971 à Paris. Vit et travaille à Paris et Montréal.

Les réseaux récursifs de neurones, habituellement désignés comme IA, permettent de faire muter les médias. A partir d’immenses bases de données accumulées sur le Web, il est possible de produire des images ressemblantes : on fournit à un réseau de neurones des milliers d’images d’oiseaux et de nouvelles images apparaissent que nous reconnaissons comme des oiseaux même si ceux-ci n’existent pas.

Ce sont des médias de médias qui constituent une véritable rupture dans l’histoire de la production du réalisme. MUE nous convie à la métamorphose permanente des images prises dans le flux permanent d’une mutation. Un monde alternatif devient visible qui ressemble à celui que nous connaissons mais qui en diffère, comme la possibilité d’un embranchement inexploré. Ce sont des images réalistes mais qui ne sont plus réelles. Elles ne sont plus fondées sur la capture de la lumière (le photoréalisme) mais sur la synthèse des mémoires capturées dans les filets des données massives du réseau.

Que devient l’image quand celle-ci est prise dans une série infinie ? Quelle est sa forme lorsqu’elle n’est que la forme de son change ? Dans quelle époque du réalisme entrons-nous lorsque nous reconnaissons comme réalistes des images qui ne proviennent pas de la capture de la réalité mais de l’hypermnésie du réseau ?

 

Antje Feger & Benjamin Stumpf

Née en 1977 à Lüneburg. Né en 1976 à Solingen (Allemagne). Vivent et travaillent à Hambourg.

Cette installation se compose de deux parties : un imprimé découpé par un broyeur de documents et une radio diffusant un collage sonore. Les images proviennent des archives du ministère de la Sécurité nationale de la République Démocratique d’Allemagne, dont les services de renseignement utilisaient ces visuels pour former leurs agents à crypter les messages en système de signes codés.

Le collage sonore est composé quant à lui d’archives de stations radio à ondes courtes, servant à transmettre des messages militaires et des renseignements à travers le monde. Un émetteur caché dans l’espace d’exposition, qui fonctionne comme une mini station radio, envoie le signal sonore à tous les récepteurs d’ondes métriques situés aux alentours.

Antje Feger et Benjamin Stumpf nous remémorent ce qu’étaient les techniques de surveillance et de renseignement lors de la Guerre froide, avant l’avènement du numérique.

Clemens Gritl

Né à Straubing (Allemagne). Vit et travaille à Berlin

Clemens Gritl conçoit des modèles informatiques artificiels en 3D inspirés des utopies urbaines du XXe siècle. Ces froides architectures noir et blanc, aux arêtes brutalistes en béton, se trouvent enserrées d’un réseau autoroutier sans fin, et baignent dans une sombre atmosphère saturée d’asphalte. Elles se réfèrent donc aux visions sociales révolutionnaires des années 1960, tout en dressant un tableau dystopique inquiétant de leur devenir. Leurs structures homogènes, aux formes répétitives et aux dimensions gigantesques, érigent des villes à la fois agressives, cauchemardesques… et fascinantes. Mais quel impact peuvent-elles produire sur l’humanité et leurs habitants ? Ne dénotent-elles pas avant tout une volonté d’organiser la société et l’espace, jusqu’à les oppresser ? En effet, on peut craindre qu’une telle ville se voie destinée à développer une société ultra fonctionnelle… Ou, au contraire, à faire basculer nos vies dans un dysfonctionnement social menaçant et aliénant.

Beate Gütschow

Née en 1970 à Mayence. Vit et travaille à Cologne et Berlin.
Représentée par la galerie Barbara Gross (Berlin), la Produzentengalerie (Hamburg), et la Sonnabend Gallery (New York).

Hortus Conclusus offre un point de vue distancié sur des parcs urbains. Gazon piétiné par les passants ou brûlé par le soleil, mauvaises herbes, tags et éclats de verre constituent autant de détails banals, finement ciselés par l’œil surplombant de la caméra. Mais au-delà de la précision du rendu photographique, cette série réorganise la perspective selon laquelle se construit l’espace public.
Beate Gütschow abandonne en effet la perspective photographique conventionnelle, et se réfère à la représentation picturale des jardins dans l’art du Moyen-Age et du début de la Renaissance. Les points de fuite manquent, les lignes ne convergent pas et demeurent parallèles, les images semblent s’ouvrir tel un livre, et tous les objets suivent la même valeur comme dans les enluminures médiévales.
Chaque visuel se compose de 150 photos assemblées numériquement par un algorithme, suivant des perspectives variées, sous forme de modèles photogrammétriques 3D. Cette technique de la photogrammétrie, utilisée pour les levés topographiques en archéologie, en architecture ou dans les travaux publics, permet de déterminer la forme, les dimensions et la position d’un objet dans l’espace à partir de photos. Elle nous rappelle que l’une des fonctions de la photographie consiste à cartographier, mesurer et organiser le réel ainsi que les objets qui le composent. L’artiste réajuste ensuite les nuances de couleurs, les contrastes et la luminosité des éléments enregistrés pour recréer une continuité dans ces images étrangement closes, et masquer les ruptures parsemant un tel puzzle visuel.

Claudia Larcher

Née en 1979 à Bregenz (Autriche). Vit et travaille à Vienne.
Représentée par la galerie 22,48 m2 (Paris).

Claudia Larcher est une artiste visuelle spécialisée dans l’animation vidéo, le collage, la photographie et l’installation. La série Urban Landscapes utilise des magazines ou des périodiques d’architecture, dont les pages sont travaillées au scalpel. Les blocs de texte se trouvent supprimés, et seuls subsistent des éléments d’édifices imprimés. Les différentes couches forment dès lors un relief : à l’ouverture de chaque double page, se dévoile un paysage architectural tridimensionnel.

La vidéo Ornament is a crime, derrière son titre grinçant qui rouvre le débat sur l’utilité ou non de l’art dans notre vie courante, présente une mise en situation de ce même type d’ouvrage compilant différentes sortes de visuels architecturaux.

La série Mies fait référence à l’œuvre du designer Mies Van der Rohe, ancien directeur du Bauhaus, à travers des vues photographiques d’édifices, des détails de volumes intérieurs, et des structures de grilles de façades, qui se trouvent superposés et intriqués grâce à un jeu de montage. Ces fragments délicats semblent avoir été dégagés de leur contexte au scalpel d’origine afin d’être reconditionnés. Ils racontent l’histoire du rêve moderniste d’une architecture faite d’efficience, de transparence et d’élégance.

Maxime Matthys

Né en 1995 à Bruxelles. Vit et travaille à Paris et Rennes.
Diplômé de l’École de journalisme EMI-CFD de Paris.

« 2091 – The Ministry of Privacy » révèle les mécanismes de reconnaissance faciale utilisés par le gouvernement chinois afin de surveiller et d’opprimer les minorités ethniques, notamment Ouïgour et Kazakh, dans la région du Xinjiang. J’ai produit cette série en collaboration avec William Attache, ingénieur en intelligence artificielle, pour créer un logiciel de reconnaissance faciale similaire à ceux qu’utilise le gouvernement chinois. Puis je me suis rendu à Kashgar, l’un des derniers bastions de la culture Ouïgour et Kazakh, et l’une des villes les plus surveillées du territoire, pour photographier la vie quotidienne de ces populations.

Malgré la censure du gouvernement, j’ai pu envoyer mes photographies dans les programmes de reconnaissance faciale développés au préalable sur mon ordinateur. Les logiciels ont alors procédé à la reconnaissance des habitants apparaissant sur les photos, et ont exporté leurs informations biométriques sur leur visage. Selon la technologie, certaines sont affichées sous forme de points rouges (appelés Landmarks) d’autres en utilisant le diagramme de Delaunay – une alternative utilisée pour cartographier de telles informations. Mon œuvre souligne ainsi le caractère intrusif de ces technologies, jusqu’alors invisibles, et la menace qu’elles représentent pour les habitants.

Achim Mohné

Né en 1964 à Aix-la-Chapelle. Vit et travaille à Cologne et Zurich.
Représenté par la galerie Judith Andreae (Bonn).

Achim Mohné s’appuie sur les nouveaux médias numériques et les nouvelles technologies pour tenter de comprendre comment notre perception et notre conscience de l’espace physique et social se repensent. L’immatérialité numérique et la corporéité virtuelle constituent les deux sujets de recherche de la série 3D-Google-Earth-Model, entamée en 2018. Ces œuvres 3D traitent du rapport entre l’espace urbain réel et ses représentations virtuelles, appelées « avatars ». Celles-ci conservent un caractère illustratif et référentiel tout en basculant vers une esthétique numérique étrange, voire abstraite, qui résulte de l’enregistrement et de la traduction de la surface de la Terre par des satellites et des drones.

Cette série de sculptures imprimées explorent les méthodes d’affichage 3D des globes virtuels (les logiciels modélisant la Terre en 3D, dont le premier du genre fut Google Earth), qui « préparent esthétiquement les utilisateurs aux futurs médias, tels que la Réalité Virtuelle ou la Réalité Artificielle ou les Réalités Mixtes », d’après l’historienne de l’art Pamela C. Scorzin.

Richard Mosse

Né en 1980 à Kilkenny (Irlande). Vit et travaille à New York.
Représenté par la galerie Carlier Gebauer (Berlin, Madrid).

La série Infra est marquée par l’utilisation par Mosse de Kodak Aerochrome, un film infrarouge de reconnaissance abandonné. Le film enregistre la chlorophylle dans la végétation vivante. Le résultat est la forêt tropicale luxuriante congolaise rendue dans un paysage magnifiquement surréaliste de roses et de rouges. Mosse a déclaré dans une interview au British Journal of Photography : « Je voulais exporter cette technologie vers une situation plus difficile, mettre fin aux conventions génériques des récits des médias de masse calcifiés, et remettre en question la façon dont nous sommes autorisés à représenter ce conflit oublié. J’ai voulu confronter cette technologie de reconnaissance militaire, l’utiliser réflexivement pour questionner les modes de construction de la photographie de guerre. »

Heat Maps, 2017.
Caméra thermique dans les camps de réfugiés (Grèce, Allemagne, Bulgarie, Allemagne)

Cette série de photos retrace la vie des migrants dans différents camps du monde. Pour rendre compte de leurs conditions de vie, le photographe s’est muni d’une arme militaire, une caméra thermique capable de filmer à plusieurs kilomètres de distance.

« Cette technologie de caméra très puissante et à mon avis très inquiétante, je la vois comme une allégorie du complexe militaro-humanitaire qui caractérise la seule réponse de l’Union européenne à l’afflux des migrants, la « crise des réfugiés » comme on l’a appelée. C’est la seule solution que nous ayons trouvée apparemment pour accueillir les demandeurs d’asile, les réfugiés qui débarquent sur nos côtes. » (Richard Mosse, interview dans France Culture).

Hito Steyerl

Née en 1966 à Munich. Vit et travaille à Berlin.
Représentée par la galerie Esther Schipper (Berlin).

A travers cette courte boucle vidéo, Hito Steyerl frappe un écran LCD noir avec un ciseau à bois et creuse à sa surface, sous l’effet du choc, un réseau de fissures multicolores. Le mot STRIKE, qui encadre cette performance minimale et signifie « frapper quelque chose » ou « se mettre en grève », implique donc un acte de collision, de perturbation, de protestation ou de résistance. Il peut se lire soit comme un impératif qui nous incite à rejoindre l’artiste dans son action. Il s’apparente alors à un mouvement de contestation contre le pouvoir des écrans. Soit comme un geste iconoclaste dévoilant le mode de production, d’apparition et de diffusion des images. En brisant cet écran, Steyerl met donc à jour les infrastructures matérielles et technologiques, ainsi que leurs implications politiques et idéologiques, qui sous-tendent tout contenu représentationnel… Et souligne que l’écran détermine bien ce qui demeure visible ou invisible à la société, à nos esprits et à nos regards.

Thierry Urbain

Né en 1960 en France.

Hypogée

Ces architectures m’ont toujours paru comme des lieux hiératiques et intemporels ouverts à la fiction et aux sciences humaines dans lesquels la géographie et l’histoire pourraient être présentées comme des utopies. Leurs formes archétypales nous permettent de reconstruire le temps et l’espace selon notre propre désir et de superposer à la réalité photographique l’équivalence d’un paysage intérieur.

Babylone

Les dernières fouilles à ciel ouvert sur le chantier archéologique de Babylone auraient montré que la bibliothèque de la cité mythique ne serait en rien un modèle de classification rationnelle des catalogues et des tablettes écrites d’une civilisation disparue. L’architecture du lieu dessine en réalité un parcours initiatique dans les dédales des salles et des escaliers. La bibliothèque obéit ainsi à une fonction rituelle (et non mémorielle) : celle d’un cheminement spirituel où le lecteur s’avère avant tout un croyant qui prie à haute voix et suit une procession.

Emmanuel Van Der Auwera

Né en 1982. Vit et travaille à Bruxelles.
Représenté par la galerie Harlan Levey Project (Bruxelles).

VideoSculpture XXI (Vegas)

Utilisant l’écran vidéo comme matériau sculptural, Emmanuel Van Der Auwera découpe les filtres qui composent chaque écran LCD et les place sur un trépied. Ce faisant, les images deviennent visibles sous forme de fragments, suivant la position du spectateur, et se découvrent selon plusieurs points de vue. Captée par des caméras thermographiques utilisées dans l’armée ou dans des dispositifs de surveillance, cette séquence brosse un portrait fantasmatique du « Strip » de Las Vegas. Les passants de l’avenue bardée d’enseignes apparaissent comme des sujets filmés non consentants, perçus à travers l’œil d’un sniper.

Horaires
Du mardi au dimanche
de 13h à 20h

Adresse
ATELIER BASFROI,
23, rue Basfroi, 75011 Paris

Métro : Voltaire ou Charonne