East Gallery

12 nov - 22 nov

Opening on November 12 from 17 p.m. to 21 p.m.

Hideyuki Ishibashi / Stéfane Perraud /
Stéphanie Roland / Filipe Vilas-Boas

Hideyuki ISHIBASHI
Born in 1986 in Kobe. Lives and works in Paris.
Graduated from Fresnoy - National Studio of Contemporary Arts in 2018.
Represented by the Ibasho gallery (Antwerp), and the IMA gallery (Shinagawa).
 
The series "Stjernhimmeln" refers to the photographic project "Celestographies" by Swedish playwright August Strindberg (1893-1894) produced without a chamber or optics, of scientific and occultist inspiration. In order to demonstrate that our perception of the world is an illusion, because it is subject to the limits of our eye and its construction, Strindberg directly exposed photographic plates facing the moon, the sun and the stars, to produce an "x-ray of the constellated sky" , as if photography could capture their hidden nature. Also appreciating the poetry and the supernatural of the image appearing during chemical reactions, Strindberg did not fix some of his "Celestographies", the positive images of which are kept at the Royal Library of Sweden, but are never exhibited due to of their fragility. All the original negative plaques have disappeared.
In “Stjernhimmeln” I try to re-emerge the original form of these images through different angles and different photographic techniques to explore the relationship between imagination and photography: Does the latter offer impartial knowledge, or does it not. it as a surface for imaginary projections? Does it have a value outside of conventional uses? And what can we learn from these “unfixed” images 126 years later?

www.hideyukiishibashi.com

Stefane PERRAUD
Born in 1975. Lives and works in Paris.
Graduated from Decorative Arts in Paris.

These engravings bring together more than twenty underwater landscapes collected from satellite photographs. The inaccessibility and invisibility of these volcanoes of very high negative altitudes (more than 4000 meters), but which do not appear on the surface of the water, force one to dream ... while we know the surface of the moon better than the bottom of the oceans. For example, Tamu located off Guyana, one of the largest volcanoes in the solar system after Olympus Mons on Mars, was not discovered until 2013.
The laser engravings perforate the paper with micro holes allowing light to pass through like lace. LED panels arranged at the back of the sheet broadcast a video stream making the engravings vibrate in places, as if they were animated with a delicate vitality. Each engraving is accompanied by a text that tells about a specific event related to the volcano. A secret and complex universe is thus revealed which puts cartography back into a romantic, exotic and sometimes naturalistic imagination.

stefane-perraud.fr

Stephanie ROLAND
Born in 1984 in Brussels. Lives and works in Brussels.
Graduated from the Berlin University of the Arts.

Every hour, a dead star listed by space institutions (NASA and ESA) is printed on a special sheet of paper, thanks to a printer connected to their databases. This photo is then placed in a tub of water, and the paper, created with the help of physicists, expands. Like the expanding universe, it then changes shape thanks to the artist's gestures, forming various constellations, until its complete atomic dissolution. This process is then broadcast in positive on a small video screen. Then in negative, in deferred time, on a large projection in the exhibition space. The death of a star, a very long phenomenon on an astronomical scale, is thus transposed within reach of human perception.

www.stephanieroland.be

Filipe VILAS_BOAS
Born in 1981 in Barcelos, Portugal. Lives and works in Paris.

Interactive, meditative and musical projection that deals with space exploration as well as our quest for meaning and transcendence, “Star Tracks - L'Astrophone” takes the form of a celestial barrel organ. For the Greeks, the cosmos came to life according to principles which they deduced from their observations and which they applied to mathematics, music and the life of the city in general. Inspired by ancient Greek astronomy and the theory of the harmony of the spheres, this work offers a combination of mechanical and algorithmic cogs using the Milky Way as a musical score. By playing with the speed and direction of rotation of the device, the audience can generate musical gems… but also dissonance and chaos.

www.filipevilasboas.com

Schedules
From Wednesday to Sunday
of 14h00 to 19h00

Address
IS GALLERY,
76 rue Saint-Maur, 75011 Paris

Metro: Rue Saint Maur

Est Galerie

12 nov - 22 nov

Vernissage le 12 Novembre de 17h à 21h

Hideyuki Ishibashi / Stéfane Perraud /
Stéphanie Roland / Filipe Vilas-Boas

Hideyuki ISHIBASHI
Né en 1986 à Kobe. Vit et travaille à Paris.
Diplômé du Fresnoy – Studio National des Arts contemporains en 2018.
Représenté par la galerie Ibasho (Anvers), et la galerie IMA (Shinagawa).
 
La série « Stjernhimmeln » se réfère au projet photographique « Célestographies » du dramaturge suédois August Strindberg (1893-1894) produite sans chambre ni optique, d’inspiration scientifique et occultiste. Afin de démontrer que notre perception du monde est une illusion, car soumise aux limites de notre œil et de sa construction, Strindberg exposa directement des plaques photographiques face à la lune, au soleil et aux étoiles, pour réaliser une « radiographie du ciel constellé », comme si la photographie pouvait capturer leur nature cachée. Appréciant également la poésie et le surnaturel de l’image apparaissant lors des réactions chimiques, Strindberg n’a pas fixé certaines de ses « Célestographies », dont les images positives sont conservées à la Bibliothèque Royale de Suède, mais ne sont jamais exposées en raison de leur fragilité. Toutes les plaques négatives d’origine, quant à elles, ont disparu.
Dans « Stjernhimmeln », je tente de refaire émerger la forme originale de ces images à travers différents angles et différentes techniques photographiques pour explorer la relation entre imagination et photographie : Est-ce que celle-ci offre des connaissances impartiales, ou n’est-elle qu’une surface pour des projections imaginaires ? A-t-elle une valeur en dehors des usages conventionnels ? Et que pouvons-nous apprendre de ces images « non fixées » 126 ans après ?

www.hideyukiishibashi.com

Stéfane PERRAUD
Né en 1975. Vit et travaille à Paris.
Diplômé des Arts décoratifs de Paris.

Ces gravures rassemblent plus de vingt paysages sous-marins collectés d’après des photographies satellitaires. L’inaccessibilité et l’invisibilité de ces volcans de très hautes altitudes négatives (plus de 4000 mètres), mais qui n’affleurent pas à la surface des eaux, forcent à la rêverie… alors que nous connaissons mieux la surface de la lune que le fond des océans. Par exemple, le Tamu situé au large de la Guyane, l’un des volcans les plus grands du système solaire après l’Olympus Mons sur Mars, n’a été découvert qu’en 2013.
Les gravures exécutées au laser perforent le papier de micro orifices laissant passer la lumière comme de la dentelle. Des panneaux de Leds agencés à l’arrière de la feuille diffusent un flux vidéo faisant vibrer les gravures par endroits, comme si elles étaient animées d’une vitalité délicate. Chaque gravure est accompagnée d’un texte qui raconte un événement spécifique lié au volcan. Se dévoile ainsi un univers secret et complexe qui remet la cartographie dans un imaginaire romantique, exotique et parfois naturaliste.

stefane-perraud.fr

Stéphanie ROLAND
Née en 1984 à Bruxelles. Vit et travaille à Bruxelles.
Diplômée de l’Université des Arts de Berlin.

Chaque heure, une étoile morte répertoriée par les institutions spatiales (NASA et ESA) est imprimée sur une feuille de papier spécial, grâce à une imprimante connectée à leurs bases de données. Cette photo est ensuite déposée dans un bac d’eau, et le papier, créé avec l’aide de physiciens, se dilate. A l’image de l’univers en expansion, il change alors de forme grâce aux gestes de l’artiste, formant des constellations variées, jusqu’à sa dissolution atomique complète. Ce processus est ensuite diffusé en positif sur un petit écran vidéo. Puis en négatif, en temps différé, sur une projection de grande taille dans l’espace d’exposition. La mort d’une étoile, un très long phénomène à l’échelle astronomique, se trouve ainsi transposée à portée de perception humaine.

www.stephanieroland.be

Filipe VILAS_BOAS
Né en 1981 à Barcelos, Portugal. Vit et travaille à Paris.

Projection interactive, méditative et musicale qui traite de l’exploration spatiale ainsi que de notre quête de sens et de transcendance, « Star Tracks – L’Astrophone » se présente sous forme d’un orgue de Barbarie céleste. Pour les Grecs, le cosmos s’animait selon des principes qu’ils déduisaient de leurs observations et qu’ils appliquaient aux mathématiques, à la musique et à la vie de la cité en général. Inspiré de l’astronomie grecque antique et de la théorie de l’harmonie des sphères, cette œuvre propose une combinaison de rouages mécaniques et algorithmiques utilisant la Voie lactée en guise de partition musicale. En jouant avec la vitesse et le sens de rotation du dispositif, le public peut générer des perles musicales… mais aussi des dissonances et du chaos.

www.filipevilasboas.com

Horaires
Du mercredi au dimanche
de 14h00 à 19h00

Adresse
EST GALERIE,
76 rue Saint-Maur, 75011 Paris

Métro : Rue Saint Maur